We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite CT Theater”

Bushnell Center for Performing Arts
Ranked #7 of 63 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Connecticut's leading venue for the performing arts is known for its community programs and being an important advocate of music, dance and theatrical productions.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favorite CT Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is my favorite theater in Connecticut because it always offers the best Broadway Series! I almost always sit in the orchestra section, but have been in the upper balcony as well. You get what you pay for!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenJF5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    50
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, CT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My spouse and i are volunteers at the Bushnell. We are there about 30 to 35 times a tear. The performances are great. The Bushnell does a wonderfdul job. No need to go to Net York for Broadway shows. They also have children's shows and an orchestra that is as good as any! We love the Bushnell!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tough venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great if you get tickets in orchestra but the balcony level is too high and cramped and unpleasant. The seats were not meant for normal sized people in the balcony. Usually sit in orchestra but show was sold out so we took upstairs. Not for me.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bakfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

I've been coming here for over a decade and still love the atmosphere. Great theater. A must of you're planning a night out in Hartford.

Helpful?
Thank ActiveAdventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots to offer since the expansion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Mortensen auditorium, the large one, is a gem of art deco design. The acoustics are great from both the audience and stage (I have performed here often). The smaller Belding theatre is a very nice venue - brand new, comfortable seats, pretty much no bad seat in the house. The new social/gathering spaces and ticket facilities are lovely and were much needed. I wish they would expand on their dining options.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushnell Center for Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Bushnell Center for Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing