We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Mirage
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for a week at the Residence Inn Downtown Hartford while we dropped our child off to college (University of Hartford). Very Nice stay. Room was large, service was great.

They had hot breakfasts in the morning and hot dinners during the week. You could get by on free hotel food during the week if you wanted to. OK, the 'dinners' weren't great, but there was hot food there in the evenings!

Rooms were large but a bit odd. They had an elevated sleeping area (loft) in the middle of the room which did serve to separate the sleeping area from the living area, but it also served to cut off the kitchen from the living room. Not a problem, but odd.

The hotel is in a historical building (1875), but once inside, you would never know. That was a shame. I would have liked to see more architectural touches reflective of the original architecture. The high ceilings of the rooms were vestiges, but again, you would never know it was historic from the inside.

Great restaurants within walking distance. We ate at Black-Eyed Sally's BBQ, Vito's by the Park, and The Russell. We would recommend them all. Also toured the Old State House a few doors down. $3 with a AAA card

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TikkunOlaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    88
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
59
39
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Solid service from staff. Sports bar and Italian restaurant on 1st floor of building. More upscale offer (Dish) is next store. Room was clean and spacious. Decor is a bit dated, so consider the nearby Hilton if a more stylish room offering is important.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want to feel like you're staying with family, complete with meals, this place is for you! Clean, efficient, friendly staff can give you the "inside scoop" on where to go and how to get there. Hartford is an historic city with modern hospitality and free city buses that loop Hartford from 7am to 7pm so that you can get it all! I love the location of this hotel inside of an old historic structure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel offers large spotless two level rooms, a window that give you fresh air, free and convenient parking, extremely responsive free Internet service, and an incredibly friendly staff, not to mention a pleasant bar within the building. Unless you prefer to be sealed in a high rise, the Residence Inn cannot be equaled much less surpassed.

Room Tip: The 8th floor is virtually noiseless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emistruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Hartford.

Lisa McIntyre Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in my 60+ years, including Residence Inns, but I have never had such a satisfying experience as we have had at the Residence Inn in Hartord, CT. My wife and I came to Hartford for the wedding of our son's best friend. When we were parking our car the parking attendant was very helpful. When checking in the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming and one even recognized that we were from Alabama and asked what brought us to Hartford. After we settled into our room the front desk called us checking to make sure everything was okay in our room. Oh, the room, it was huge with 16 foot ceilings. It had a desk area, couch, lounge chair, dining area, comfortable bed, dishwasher, microwave, sink, coffee pot, two closets, huge living area and a nice size bathroom. The room is a minimum of 800 sq. ft. When we went down to their breakfast we were greated by the cleaning folks, the front desk and a very personable dining room attendant. One of their regular customers asked her for a hug and I heard him say that gets his day off to a great start. I can't say enough about how the staff made our stay special. We probably will never be in Hartford again but we would definitely would make a bee line for the Downtown Residence Inn. Great southern hospitality in New England!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We used this hotel for a night for a conference. It was clean and spacious. We loved having a kitchen, and the extra space. We had a queen loft. It is so close to many dining Places and is so close to the XL Center. I went with my daughter and her friend and walked them to XL Center and enjoy a nice quiet evening watching TV. They even had a blow up mattress for my daughter to use so that she could spend time with her friend on the first floor and I could have a nice quiet sleep in the loft. My daughters friends slept on the pullout couch and she slept on the mattress and I'm sure was up for hours talking about the concert. The hotel offers a nighttime snack between the hours of six and 730 as well as has a full breakfast in the morning. We had a corner room with a beautiful view of the city. I will definitely return. The staff at the desk for friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach21566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We are glad that you were able to relax during your stay while your daughter and friend had a great time at the concert. It sounds like our loft suite was a perfect fit for you. We hope to see you again soon for some of the great shows coming up at the XL Center.

Lisa McIntyre Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding in Hartford. It is walking distance to the Hartford Club (popular wedding locale) and has a few bars/restaurants nearby (City Steam is literally right next door) that are good spots to grab a few beers or a quick bite.

The hotel itself offers one and two bedroom "lofted" suites as well as more traditional "studio" rooms. The rooms are very very big, it looks like this hotel could have been an apartment building at one time or another. The loft is not that great, its basically just the bed and the TV. The decor and the hotel itself is fairly dated, as is the bathroom and kitchen for anyone staying on an extended stay. The rooms are equipped with a kitchenette with microwave, silverware and some dishes/bowls etc. and they also have popcorn for guests which I believe was free.

There is also a small convenience shop in the lobby that sells some snacks and drinks. Breakfast was free with the stay and was decent - eggs, cereal, sausage, bagels, pancakes, etc.

Probably wouldn't stay here again just bc it was so dated and would rather stay at a more traditional spot, especially since it wasn't very cheap.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites are enormous and actually have doors on the bedrooms. One bedroom loft was open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nchristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your stay. You are correct about the hotel previously being apartments, our building has been transformed a few times since it was constructed in 1875.
We understand your concerns regarding the decor of the hotel and are in the planning process of a complete renovation scheduled to start later this year. We hope that you chose to stay with us again and enjoy our newly refreshed and up to date look once the renovation is complete.

Lisa McIntyre Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Address: 942 Main St, Hartford, CT 06103-1214
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing