We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Solid hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September. Overall a very pleasant place to stay. Very spacious and comfortable room with everything we needed. Breakfast was solid (oatmeal, good cereal, yogurt, bagels, etc, fruit plus hot food). Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Location in downtown Hartford is convenient--can walk to many restaurants. The only downside is that you can get a little bit of street noise/light (windows are very large because of the high ceilings, and a small section at the very top has a lighter shade). Given that most people aren't in Hartford for an extended, relaxing vacation, it's not really a big deal. I would definitely stay here again if I were in Hartford.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    95
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
61
47
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in the Residence Inn for 5 nights - with 2 small children, and having travelled all over, I can honestly say it was one of the strangest places I have been in. The rooms were fine - actually very clean and spacious, but the kitchen was kitted out very badly and the communal areas left a lot to be desired. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was good, but the "shop" with "meal substitutes" was awful - with not a fresh item of produce in sight. Not even milk. Also, downtown Hartford has little to offer a family. I have stayed in Residence Inns before, and this was emphatically not up to scratch - in spite of the best efforts of the lovely staff. Steer clear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaTyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunavut, canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We spent just one night here, we left Newport RI for a close destination before going back to Canada. Hotel is very close to major highways, I mean 30 seconds away! Checked-in nicely on a friday night, the short staff (due to hurricane warning Irene) was great. We had an 'accessible' room 414. HUGE room, kids loved it, kitchen is nicely furnished. There was a smell in room, as if no one accessed this room in many days, if not weeks. All the rest was pretty decent. I suggest you shop in West hartford (Whole foods there) about 8 minutes drive. Very secure indoor parking (16$), we had the room for 139$ internet special. Make sure you book it on the internet because they cannot match the offer at the front desk...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed for two nights August 27&28 for a wedding held down the block from hotel. The room was amazing. There were 3 adults and with the loft setting it was perfect. One person downstairs on the sofabed and the other 2 upstairs in the loft. Two bathrooms, full kitchen. Very clean. Thought it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The complimentary breakfast was very enjoyable in a pleasant room. Lots of food choices and everything was fresh. Front desk personnel very accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for long term. Felt like an apartment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank douboy386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed at the Residence Inn for one night on a work trip to Hartford. The rooms seemed old, with warn carpets and stains on the ceiling of the bathroom. But the room (loft style) was quite large and I guess it wouldn't be a bad place to be if I need to come back to Hartford for an extended stay.

The free breakfast was what I would expect from a Residence Inn (waffles, eggs, cereal, etc.) I was looking forward to the free dinner as well, but unfortunately could not eat it because it was chicken and I'm a vegetarian. The food looked good though so hopefully I can try it next time.

Location was great. We could have walked to the federal building where we were going for work but chose not to because it was too hot out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for almost 40 days. The hotel location is perfect, its right in the middle of downtown, lot of good restaurants, pubs, city attractions are within walk-able distance.

This hotel has good rooms, gym and common area. Electronic/Electric equipment in the room were decent. Internet speed was also good. Food was average as the taste and variety served during breakfast and evening snacks wasn't up to the mark.

Hotel staff had only couple of good people, rest were uninterested in serving the customers. Some of the staff was even blatantly rude on couple of occasions. Little smile and simple courteousness by staff will upgrade this hotel from better to the best.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are better than other single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0gesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I stayed here for a wedding at the end of May. It is right off the highway. It was extremely easy to get to.

I stayed in a loft style room. Very nice, but there seemed to be a lot of wasted space. The kitchen had anything you would need and a nice size living room. The bathroom was pretty small for such a large space though. The bed was very comfortable. Overall, it was great for its price of $130 a night.

My biggest complaint would be that parking is $16 a day. Its Hartford. I thought that was a little crazy. The parking garage gives off the illusion that you are in an abandoned slaughter house. I wouldn't have wanted to be in there alone.

Other than parking, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Address: 942 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing