We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good rooms, but unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, Good rooms, but unfriendly staff”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for almost 40 days. The hotel location is perfect, its right in the middle of downtown, lot of good restaurants, pubs, city attractions are within walk-able distance.

This hotel has good rooms, gym and common area. Electronic/Electric equipment in the room were decent. Internet speed was also good. Food was average as the taste and variety served during breakfast and evening snacks wasn't up to the mark.

Hotel staff had only couple of good people, rest were uninterested in serving the customers. Some of the staff was even blatantly rude on couple of occasions. Little smile and simple courteousness by staff will upgrade this hotel from better to the best.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are better than other single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0gesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    99
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
63
48
20
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I stayed here for a wedding at the end of May. It is right off the highway. It was extremely easy to get to.

I stayed in a loft style room. Very nice, but there seemed to be a lot of wasted space. The kitchen had anything you would need and a nice size living room. The bathroom was pretty small for such a large space though. The bed was very comfortable. Overall, it was great for its price of $130 a night.

My biggest complaint would be that parking is $16 a day. Its Hartford. I thought that was a little crazy. The parking garage gives off the illusion that you are in an abandoned slaughter house. I wouldn't have wanted to be in there alone.

Other than parking, it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed here two nights for business and had a loft suite. The room we exceptionally spacious and very clean. It had huge windows overlooking downtown and a large living room, kitchen, and dining area, along with a work desk with all the tech connections. It is an older building that was fitted with this hotel. The front desk staff were extremely friendly. In fact, the quality of staff service and attention was almost at the level of a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was standard included residence inn food, but presented in a very enjoyable dining area with flat screen TVs. They offered a weeknight managers dinner, with a lot of good food also. I cant say enough about the staff who made my stay very enjoyable. Also, even though older, the rooms were very clean. Carpeting was in very good shape. Usual residence inn bath products and good showers. I would definitely stay here again. The fitness center had the basics plus some good quality tread mills.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KollegeKlubMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised with the size of the room--which actually is a 1 bedrm apt with a full kitchen (for the price of a regular hotel rm). And the buffet breakfast (included in the rm rate) was very good. The location is close to several good restaurant options. It's near a stop for the free downtown shuttle bus. I'd definitely stay here again. Taxi ride from the Hartford International Airport to the hotel was $26.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We live in Downtown and due to some renovation work in our home, we stayed at the Residence Inn for 6 weeks. I cannot say enough good about this hotel.
The rooms are huge - and if you need the space, get the 1 bedroom - it is totally worth it. High ceilings, separate bedroom and bathroom and a full kitchen.
We were on the 6th floor, and our housekeeper, Ana, is fantastic. The room was spotless, she was always exceptionally friendly - can't say enough good about her.
Every morning there is breakfast - and Janet (she runs breakfast) is so friendly and helpful and personable - she made my morning every day.
The front desk (Michelle, Kim - everyone!) were all super friendly and helpful. We needed to keep extending our stay and they were always soo accomodating.
And the groundskeepers - these guys are wonderful. Funny, kind, personable..
I simply can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is fantastic.
The hotel gets a lit of traffic, and they handle it well.
We've stayed (or had out of town family stay) at almost every hotel in Hartford.. The Marriott, the Crown Plaza, the Hilton..) From this point forward, we'll always use the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpetesaltlifegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I have stayed at Residence Inn a number of times and would definitely come back to and recommend to my friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

The rooms are huge and feels like you are getting a royal treatment. Staffs at the place are nice and helpful. They provide complimentary breakfast to all guest with lot to choose from. But the bad part is the menu never changes and would advice them to have new and rotate menu for different days.

The rate was decent and the location of the property makes it the most suitable place for any business traveler. Had a nice time and would visit again. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Unusual older building has been gutted and restored into a modern Residence Inn with much more charm than the typical roadside hotel. The rooms are very large with high ceilings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPCWaterford_CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Hartford Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Address: 942 Main St, Hartford, CT 06103-1214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Hartford Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Hartford Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing