We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, nothing fancy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Hartford
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine, nothing fancy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is fine, nothing fancy. We only stayed one night as a stopover on our drive up the north east. The room was clean and well appointed. The decor was dated, but still acceptable. Staff at checkin were fast and efficient, if a little impersonal.

There was a bit of noise from the street, but this may have been due to the concert next door at the XL Center - nothing we couldn't live with.

We got breakfast the next morning at M&M, as it was inexpensive an convenient - no complaints.

Overall, the hotel is fine. Probably a good business hotel, or for a place to sleep like we did. 

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agdcholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
As a Tripadvisor contributor I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am happy to see we were able to provide you with a convenient stopover on your drive through the Northeast. The Hilton Hartford prides itself on being able to offer the best breakfast in Hartford at an inexpensive cost to our guests. I agree that our staff excels at providing a fast and efficient check-in however, I will use your comment to help improve the personal touch each guest should be receiving. If you should find yourself traveling to this area in the future I would welcome the opportunity to once more provide you with accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    345
    176
    76
    44
See reviews for
163
157
76
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in Hilton for a reasonable price, great gym, comfortable bed and linens, polite service and on top of everything a very convenient location. It is close to fun bars and restaurants and right next to the highway (yet very quiet up in the higher floors we stayed on). Good value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonbug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your exceptional review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our number one priority is the satisfaction of our guests. I will certainly pass along to our management team that you found our rooms comfortable and you were able to enjoy the amenities provided. Downtown Hartford does offer many attractions that are close to the hotel and I am delighted to read you were able to enjoy this feature. Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you at our hotel again very soon.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel clearly underwent a recent and somewhat shoddy renovation. All fixtures were crummy and shower was mildewy. Oddly, they would not allow my husband to check into our room because we have different last names, which has never happened to us before.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel and for sharing feedback from your stay with the TripAdvisor community. Your input related to the appointment of our rooms is appreciated and is something I’ll use as we work to continuously improve our hotel. We strive to make every guests' experience a positive one and we are sorry you were disappointed. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Hartford so that we may provide you with an improved experience.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse station
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

have been to this Hilton in the middle of downtown Hartford several times. A great location for a weekend retreat. Great service and parking(pay for parking) and a nice breakfast too. As always, The hotel is spotless with great service. Front desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SelmerSaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I would like to take a moment to acknowledge your kind review on TripAdvisor. Please know that your feedback is truly appreciated. I will certainly share with our front desk staff the positive comments you wrote in your review. I am also happy to read that you were able to enjoy our breakfast accommodations. Our main focus is serving the needs of our guests and validation that we are accomplishing this is much appreciated. I hope you allow us to be you home away from home again soon.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Room was missing lightbulbs, phone wasn't plugged into wall, grate on the outside wall was busted and open to the outside so we got to hear traffic all night. Restaurant ran out of clean glasses at dinner and didn't serve bloody mary's with breakfast. The stay was okay, but absolutely not worth the money. The only redeeming factor is it's proximity to the XL center. Only stay here if you're seeing a show. Otherwise, find someone cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank nicitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed in this hotel for a night to see a concert. The website and other reviews boast a skywalk to the XL Center. This skywalk is closed and no one mentioned that which was annoying. The walk is so short, like two doors down from the hotel so it was ok but I just hate when things are not as advertised.

The parking was convenient. It is $18 a night with unlimited in and out privileges. Other reviewers seemed annoyed by this but you are in a downtown area so I feel like the cost was typical. The garage was well-lit with plenty of spaces and it connected directly to the hotel.

We ordered room service when we arrived as the hotel restaurant was not yet open. I thought the sandwiches were reasonably priced. Nothing to be super excited about, but I had a turkey club which is not too exciting.

The room was very clean and actually spacious. We had two double beds, a desk with a comfortable rolling chair and another more leisure chair in the corner. The room had a fridge and one cup coffee maker which are nice amenities that sometimes aren't always included.

We were in town for a concert so after the show the lobby and elevators were crowded. The staff was very accommodating and accompanied guests on the staff elevator to help with the crowd/waiting.

Check in and out was easy and all the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments and for being our guest. I'm sorry that the Skywalk was unavailable during your stay. The area was temporarily closed for the safety of our guests due to a door that was damaged and in the process of being repaired. Your comments regarding the parking are greatly appreciated as we do not own the garage but lease the access to this space. I will certainly pass along your praise of the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. Our number one priority is guest satisfaction and your feedback confirms that we are accomplishing this mission.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

When our hotel we booked in advance in Essex wound up being a roach motel, my husband and I decided to continue our trip up to New England. We didnt have reservations anywhere and decided at the last minute to stop in Hartford. We picked the Hilton Hartford because after our last experience we were rather gun shy of any off name hotels. We were not disappointed. The Hilton was very easy to find and parking was not an issue. The staff was extremely friendly and got us settled in quickly. The room was very large, clean and had a wonderful nighttime cityscape view. I would recommend staying up high to get this view. The beds were comfortable and we did not hear anything from adjoining rooms. If it had not been for heading to Vermont we would had stayed another night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjwilliams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review on TripAdvisor of our Hartford Hilton hotel. The primary goals of our managers and associates is to ensure that each and every guest feels welcome and that we provide a clean, comfortable environment. Comments such as yours validate that we are accomplishing these goals. We hope to see you at our hotel again soon.

Anish Patney,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Property: Hilton Hartford
Address: 315 Trumbull Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing