We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, meager fitness center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Hartford
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, meager fitness center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location, pretty standard facilities for a mid range Hilton.
My only gripe was that the fitness center was woefully under supplied.
Every day there was a waiting line for equipment - even at 5:30 am!
There was room for a couple more ellipticals (they only have 2) and they need to supply them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRMbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We have recently upgraded our fitness center with state of the art Life Fitness equipment and your comment regarding the accessibility is appreciated. I have taken your feedback to my team and we will be looking into additions that we may be able to offer in the future. Again your comments are appreciated and I hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    309
    148
    67
    37
See reviews for
137
134
66
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A two night stay on business, the check in was warm and friendly, especially with tips about the downtown area. Room service food was well priced and very fresh, even late at night. The room is very functional and in room coffee exceptionally good for drip. Local drop off with the shuttle was super convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I would like to take a moment to thank you for your positive feedback. Our main focus is serving the needs of our guests and validation that we are accomplishing this is much appreciated. I certainly hope you allow us to be you home away from home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I am truly grateful for the service received from the Hilton Hartford Hotel. Imani (The Trinity College Black Student Union) held our annual Blackout Dinner Formal at the Hilton this year and it was just amazing. This has been the best one that I have experienced in my three years at Trinity. The food was amazing, the staff were friendly, and the representative I was in contact with treated us like family. I wish to have our event here next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on April 1st. It was okay. However, the front desk staff are not helpful or friendly. Following my stay there my charge on my Amex did not match up with what I expected so I called the hotel for a copy of my receipt since I could not find it. Well, I called 3 times and still have not received my receipt. Each time, they tell me they are sending it, verify my email, and never send it! Not to mention the first person who answers at the Hilton, grunts and forwards you off to someone else immediately. It is TERRIBLE Customer service!!!! I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' experience a positive one and we are sorry you were disappointed. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing training as we work towards the goal of superior hospitality. If you are still in need of your receipt please contact me personally at the extension below. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Hartford so that we may show you the hotel experience you deserve.

Duane Schroder
General Manager
(860) 240-7200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was at a conference at the Hilton so staying here seemed to be the easiest thing to do. I was booked into a room on the 20th floor. Everything went smoothly at check in and the check in was flawless and friendly. I did not not have a car but needed to find a drugstore and was told directions to a CVS aout 6 blocks away.

The room was absolutely adequate in size and the included WiFi worked well once I called down to the front desk and found they had spelled my last name incorrectly which was why I coujldn't get into the wifi at first. Walked to the CVS as I was given directions. I have been in a lot of downtowns in my travels and while I wouldn't say I felt unsafe, I definitely felt guarded. I was sure to walk while it was light outside but still some deserted streets and people "hanging around" madae me a little edgy. I had a lot of work to do that night so I wanted to pick up some takeout rather than room service but it was slim pickings in the dozen blocks I ended up cruising. There was a Burger King and Subway (no) and some nice places Morton's Steakhouse (not take out!) but the in between places were not very prolific. Ended up going to a place named Ginza Teriyaki. Very limited menu but fresh, cooked to order, cheap and fit the bill.

Great location if you are going to XL center as it is right next door. There is computer and printer in the lobby (both PC and Apple) to easily print your boarding passes. The maid service was very very good and late on all days so that I was not disturbed while getting ready in the morning. I stored my luggage upon checkout as I had an hour to kill and was asked if I would be needing a cab upon my return in an hour. It was all ready and waiting when I came back.

During my trip I ran into numerous employees in the elevator, mgmt asking maintenance for service, cleaning, just general great upkeep of the areas. When I checked out of my room it appeared they were upgrading matresses down the hall or servicing the rooms. I did not find stains or worn furniture as the other reviewers.

My room was quiet. No issues with thin walls.

I remember thinking as I got into the cab at the end of my stay that they really took good care of me. If I have to return to Hartfor downtown, I will definintely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Found the hotel to be quite noisy. The walls between the rooms are paper thin and the AC is extremely loud. That said the hotel is fine. Free Wifi, ample facilities (tea coffee iron etc in room), good location and decent enough bar and restaurant. Good meeting facilities also. A little dated decor.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From Check-in to Room Service to Check-out, this particular hotel delivers... very friendly front desk staff, very clean rooms and quite floors made the stay a pleasure... the hotel is located 5 mins off of Main Street and an amazing Italian restaurant called Bocca Rosssa... the only issue i had was the not-so-friendly attitude when i requested a late-checkout... hopefully the hotel will fix that issue... otherwise... great stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Priyank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Property: Hilton Hartford
Address: 315 Trumbull St, Hartford, CT 06103-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing