We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK+, acceptable, really great staff”
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hartford
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK+, acceptable, really great staff”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Needs some renovation but still clean and acceptable. Good if you absolutely have to be in downtown Hatford. Concert was on across the street and the hotel had many (6?) security guards out front. Garage is awkward since some access renovation was underway. Staff was very pleasant. Really- everyone! Half-price appetizers at the bar all night on Tuesdays/Thursdays was a GREAT deal. Had 3 with a glass of wine- $25.00! Would sleep there again but if you have a car and can stay 5-6 miles away, there are liiely better deals to be found.
But then again, you would need to deal with AM traffic on weekdays which is horrible. Your call- but not bad.

Room Tip: high floors ARE very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgalga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    360
    183
    80
    48
See reviews for
173
169
76
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
daggerz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I were going to a concert at the XL center for our fifth year wedding anniversary. So, I booked a stay at the Hilton Hartford over a month prior to my arrival. I booked a non refundable room with a King size bed through Expedia. We arrived at the Hilton Hartford at 6:00 pm and were told there are no more rooms with king size beds. I was very disappointed and told the clerk this was our wedding anniversary. He said the double beds are very "roomy". I asked if there were any suites available (I would've paid extra). He said they were sold out and then he offered to charge $10 versus their normal $18 for parking. Since the concert started at 7:30, we decided to just stay in the room with double beds. I had the worst sleep I've had in a long time. We have a king size bed at home so we're used to the larger bed.

The room was a typical room of a average hotel (definitely not what I would expect from a Hilton). The room had coffee stains on the wall. I've never stayed at a Hilton before but I'd be hesitant to stay at one again.

Upon checkout, I expressed how I was disappointed with my stay, the lady at the front desk just kept insisting to give them another chance and come back next year for our anniversary. I told her I would never go back to that hotel again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank daggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Whenever I find my company has booked me into a Hilton I am immediately wary. Yes, they have a grand history and worldwide brand recognition. In my experiences, they have tiny rooms and inflated prices.

The Hilton Hartford changed that for me. Yes, this location hasn't been recently renovated, but it was the most pleasant stay I have yet enjoyed.

My colleague and I arrived from the airport to a warm (and somewhat cheery, camp) welcome from the front desk staff. Upon entering my room, I was immediately pleased to see a normal sized hotel room. The decor is a bit dated, but everything was clean and well maintained.

The only unpleasant event during my stay was not at the hand of Hilton. It is a pet friendly hotel, and one of the guests left their dog in the room unattended. This is a no-no. The poor pooch whimpered and barked for 2 hours until the owner returned. My only suggestion to the management is to be more proactive about contacting the owner and/or removing the pet from the room. Besides distressing the pet, the noise bothered every other guest on the floor.

You will find the location great - especially if you are attending the XL Center. And it is within just a couple of blocks of many restaurants/bars/pubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I met my cousin at the Hilton Hartford for the weekend of November 3-4, 2012. I wanted to stay in a high rise and ended up on the 21st floor which had awesom views of downtown Hartford. The room was extremely clean as was the bathroom which is very important to me. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and up-beat and funny throughout our evening. We had la few apps for lunch at the M+M Bistro there at the restaurant and a few drinks and the food and service were top notch. Atfer doing a little bar hopping in town (all bars/clubs/restaurant are within walking distance from the hotel) which I must say was surprisingly safe to do so, we decided to visit the hotel bar at the M+M and tried their wings which I recommend having...they were very good!!! We ended the evening at the hotels bar and met a lot of nice people. Turned out the bartender, David, graduated the same year I did but from the rival High School, East Hartford High!!! I will stay there again, for sure!!! The only draw back was the parking garage which was difficult to navigate and was $18 per night.

Room Tip: The higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped with wife and baby on the way back from MA to NYC. Off with the bad, hotel parking is expensive at $18 for a medium-sized city like Hartford. For those that don't know Hartford, I wouldn't really bother making a stop of it other than to sleep. As for the hotel proper, we had nothing but good experiences. Great rate through AAA and a Tripadvisor discount. Upgraded to an exec room for a small fee, which was more than repaid by free breakfast. The staff went the extra mile to accommodate our little one. Emilia and the other staff in the bistro, in particular, were fantastic and my daughter loved them back. The room was large and clean, as was the pool. One of the reviewers mentioned smell of smoke. I have a pretty good nose and noticed nothing of the sort.

Room Tip: Upgrade, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucafromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight during a large women's conference. The location can't be beat and the beds were VERY comfortable, but they could not handle the crowd without hiccups. Long lines for check in and elevators, requests that went unfulfilled despite promises and follow up calls, and breakfast room service delivery that arrived 90 mins past requested time and not as ordered. Bummer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Below average hotel with average staff with above average prices. I stayed for 4 nights during a work trip. I don't generally stay in Hiltons and this is a great hotel to explain why. The staff was decent, for a low to mid hotel but definitely not flagship hotel staff. The business center had poor hours and the breakfast was always out at 7am, which means that people who woke up later had to scrimp for toast. The whole hotel reeks of smoke and the indoor pool was closed. I will definitely not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi sam0sa. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your visit to Hartford. I’m sorry to read that your stay wasn’t more pleasant and we didn’t earn your praise.

I would be remiss, however, if I did not let the Trip Advisor Community know that that comments provided do not accurately reflect the services and amenities we offer at our full service hotel. I want to take this opportunity to clarify some topics that were mentioned.

The business center at the Hilton Hartford Downtown hotel is open and accessible 24 hours a day to meet the needs of our patrons. Our guests can print boarding passes, check email and look up local area attractions at any hour of the day or night when it’s convenient for them to do so. Our m&m Bistro restaurant is located adjacent to the lobby and while it does offer a breakfast buffet option on the menu, m&m Bistro is a bona fide restaurant featuring a full bar and offers a large menu of meals and a la carte items. Both hotel guests and local Hartford residents enjoy m&m for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I sincerely appreciate all the reviews and comments for our hotel posted on Trip Advisor and use them as a means to consistently improve the quality of the services and lodging we provide. If your experience was different from the descriptions above, please contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss the matter in detail and get to the bottom of where we fell short. I want to make it right for you and ensure our future guests are confident that they can expect superior customer service and full service amenities at our hotel.

Duane Schroder,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Property: Hilton Hartford
Address: 315 Trumbull St, Hartford, CT 06103-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing