We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service during a busy weekend”
Review of Hilton Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hartford
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice service during a busy weekend”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed here during the Winterfest volleyball tournament, along with a number of other teams from the Northeast US. The hotel was very busy that weekend, but that didn't seem to phase the staff at all. We were greeted pleasantly when we checked in, which was nice after the hectic drive through downtown Hartford traffic. We had asked for a room with a king size bed and a cot for our daughter. The cot was not in the room when we arrived, but was delivered shortly after we checked in. My wife ate at the restaurant the first night while my daughter and I went to the first night activities at the convention center. The two of us had room service when we returned, which was a thrill for my daughter.

Our team had to play in the early pools on the first day, and the hotel restaurant was not open by the time we had to leave. Luckily, we were able to find something to eat at the convention center. That was the only glitch in our stay. A number of the players (and their families) had lunch in the restaurant when we returned, and we got to watch the throngs of UConn fans walk by after the basketball game finished.

On our second day, the team decided that we wanted to order pizza in rather than attempting to find a downtown restaurant that could take 20-30 people at once. The staff was happy to open up a meeting room for us to use, which was very much appreciated by all.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerBait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcarr, eCommerce Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Hello TigerBait,
We are delighted to hear you had such a memorable stay with us! Our hotel takes great pride in going above and beyond to ensure our guests are comfortable and experience the top service in Hartford. I have passed your kind words on to our staff to congratulate them on such amazing service, especially on a weekend we were so busy. We were all happy to hear that you and your team enjoyed the Pizza Party and hope that it helped make the weekend one you will always remember. We look forward to your future stays with us and best of luck to your daughter in upcoming volleyball games!
Safe Travels,
Helen Carr
eCommerce Manager
Hilton Hartford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    352
    180
    78
    47
See reviews for
169
162
76
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The room had the look of the '90s or even the '80s. Obsolete phone, no flat screen TV, tired decor. Expensive parking in garage under the hotel. Room service came from the coffee shop; was pretty good fish dish.

Lobby decor was updated and staff was ecxcellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New yOrk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Upon check in we had a problem with our reservation but it was quickly rectified by the front desk. Convenience of being attached to XL center was awesome. Pool was nice but hot tub and sauna were not working properly. Hotel is starting to show its age but friendly and efficient staff more than made up for it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guinness1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Only problem the T.V. was old and out dated, really bad quality for a Hilton Hotel. The Spa/Jacuzzi was old, very small, and dirty.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Hartford during my visit to Connecticut on a family emergency. With all the worries and emotional drama. The staff made my stay very enjoyable and comforting. I am used to the big city scenery and I was taken by the colonial view from my hotel room. Room service was awesome and houskeeping really did a fantastic job. I would also like to thank the receptionist who assisted me when I lost my parking ticktet to get my car out of the garage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcarr, Helen Carr eCommerce Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Hello yenlasalle ,
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with not only our room service, front desk and housekeeping associates, but our whole team! It is our pleasure to provide a great stay for you and we hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,
Hartford Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed at this Hilton for business travel - i stay at about 25-30 Hiltons a year and found this facility to be very much below standard. Nothing really worked right - check-in took almost 30 minutes - my trip to the Fitness Center found both exercycles broken and quite dated and finally a simple order of a Greek Salad took 35 minutes to deliver in a basically empty restaurant. they did agree service was bad and offered to pay for my dinner which was a nice gesture - but the place was definetely off its game.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millionmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I planned a Surprise 50th Birthday party for my father and worked with Kris Yung and Sarah. They worked with my mother and I to accommodate 60 guests with an unforgettable night. They posted the event on a flatscreen billboard in the lobby, the food and decor was amazing and we received compliments all night. The bartender David was so friendly and kind, he too helped in making our event a serene reality. I would definietley reccommend the Hilton Hartford for events again and again and again. Thanks Hilton! You made our event a true success:c) ..................-Monique L. Walton

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoLovely27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcarr, eCommerce Manager at Hilton Hartford, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Hello MoLovely27,
We are so pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed a memorable experience and are grateful you welcomed us to be apart of such a big night in your lives. It was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again!
Thank you- Hilton Hartford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hartford

Property: Hilton Hartford
Address: 315 Trumbull St, Hartford, CT 06103-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hartford
#3 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Hartford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Hartford hotel is a shining star in the skyline of the historic city of Hartford, Connecticut. With a central Downtown location and connection to the XL Center, guests have access to outstanding area sports, cultural and consumer show events. Many of Hartford's corporate offices are also within walking distance of the Hilton Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hartford Hotel Hartford
Hilton Hotel Hartford
Hartford Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing