We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and a nice meal”
Review of Salute

Salute
Ranked #1 of 439 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
CT
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service and a nice meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a party of 5 here last night for a birthday dinner. We did not have reservations but were promptly seated which was appreciated and surprising since the restaurant looked quite busy.

The host (or manager) was very nice and went out of his way to accommodate the expectant mother in our party without her even asking.

We all enjoyed our dinners. The standouts were the #11 special which I had which was excellent, the gnochi with creamy pesto and the Giobatto. The portions were large enough where we had to take some home. We also ordered their famous garlic bread which is a must if you are getting pasta dishes.

Again after dinner the host/manager (Sorry I am not really sure what his title was) was the star. He came over with a bag with 3 loaves of garlic bread for the mom to be and also a biscotti for all of the ladies. In addition our waiter brought out a nicely decorated piece of tiramasu for the birthday boy.

We enjoyed our experience here and will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAvallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    151
    45
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great service, but just average”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I liked the service, but was very disappointed with food quality. I would not recommend this place. Loud place not for business or quite relaxing evening.

Helpful?
Thank sana2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, IN
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were a large group. My only complaint was that they put us in a very small room and it was very cramped. But... we were all friends and that made it not so uncomfortable. The food was excellent. They did provide us free appetizers as they understood our seating arrangement was less than ideal. The service was excellent. We had a great waiter. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid Week Treat!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had reservations for 6:30 and when we arrived they had several large parties and had to wait just a few minutes. The Owner came by and asked if he could buy us a glass of wine while we waited! The wait was maybe 10 minutes.

The waiter was very prompt and we never had to ask for anything. He was right there. As was the support staff.

I had Chilean Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked and served over baby fingerling buttered potatoes. It was Delicious!! My friend had the Lobster Pinchiori which was also very good!
Top it off with Cappuccino and a take home bag of Biscotti it was a Great evening out.

Will definitely be going back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice time but rushed...”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a great pre-theater dinner at Salute Saturday night. The food and wine were great - recommend of course the cheese garlic bread and also the Hanger steak. Waiter Chip did a good job.
Only one complaint. Everything - the food/courses - came at us way too fast! The appetizers and salad came at the exact same time. We asked them to slow it all down and please wait for us to ask for the entrees. They did not.
We understand the need to "turn the table" but it kind of put a downer on an otherwise nice dinner out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute also viewed

 

Been to Salute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing