We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Salute

Salute
Ranked #1 of 437 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unfamiliar with the resaurants in Hartford (we were visiting my UCONN daughter from NJ and went to the old trusty Tripadvisor site. Of course after reading the reviews of Salute, we had to give it a try, even though we were requesting an 8:30 Saturday night reservation for 6 and that at only a few hours earlier.
Although crowded and "active" (I wouldnt recommend this for a romantic evening), we were seated promptly at our reserved time. It only got better. As we were barely opening our menus, along came the one owner, Jim, to chat. He really knows how to make you feel at home and was spotted working the room the entire night. He even gave my daughter a little travelling gift to share with her roommates etc. We shared 3 appetizers as well as their delicious garlic bread (dont miss it). All our entrees, beverage selections and desserts were second to none and very fairly priced.
We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pebadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    150
    44
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food was very very good, and the service was outstanding. We came for a very late lunch--the place was very quiet, but perfect for us (we had our 1 yr old, and a busy night isn't ideal).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a planned, yet unexpectedly good meal!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

well, I searched restaurants to go to in hartford, and decided upon Salute, as it was ranked #1. When I got there though, it was disappointing as initially, we could not get seats as the counter staff informed us that they would be full with people coming in in the next 15mins and thus had no room for us. However, as we stepped outside, a man, whom I would guess is the manager of the restaurant, asked us if we were looking for a meal there. we said yes, of course, and he brought us in to a table of 4.

the service staff was astounding, giving honest and frank views of their restaurant dishes, and was really helpful in giving recommendations. food was good, reasonably priced. for patrons heading to the theatre after, there is an additional 10% discount off your bill. and of course, as many reviews earlier mentioned, we were offered biscotti when we left.

overall a good place with reasonably priced food and good service. highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spotty161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Salute is as good as they come.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have eaten a lot of Italian food - in Newark, NJ, Rome, Florence, Sicily, NYC and Boston. This Hartford restaurant was a joy. Cheerful, pleasant, upscale setting contributed to the overall experience. The window seating did not hurt either - especially when dining alone. I had the spinach salad, with cheese, apple wood smoked bacon and toasted walnuts and garlic. This was followed by fettuccini with little neck clams. Light, delicious, and reasonable priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“Not Your Run-of-the Mill bistro!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Swift service, gracious staff and creative cuisine. On recent trip to Ct to visit family decided to introduce my wife to downtown Htfd. Son suggested this location. I was served grilled vegetable panini which was hot, grilled to perfection, subtly seasoned! And served on house baked bread. Wife had pasta rosa which was plentiful. The sauce was a rose cream sauce with chunks of fresh tomatoes. Wife indicated that sauce was hearty and tortellini cooked to perfection. Son had meatball salad which had two substantial meatballs served over very fresh mixed greens. This eatery will certainly deserve a dinner time visit next time we come to town.

Helpful?
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute also viewed

 

Been to Salute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing