We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, a hotel on their way to be truly great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, a hotel on their way to be truly great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What friendly staff! This hotel is currently under renovation to become a Best Western, but the rooms are clean and the staff are so friendly! I’m generally not one to post reviews online but I wanted to call out this hotel for having some really professional and friendly staff. It was a welcome feeling walking into the lobby and being greeted by a friendly desk clerk! In the morning all the staff we passed in the hall were equally happy and cheerful! Breakfast was basic, but just enough to get you going before continuing on the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    99
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
76
62
33
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here while attending a graduation at Trinity College. It is your basic hotel (really more of a motel) and it was fine for a night's stay, I can't say there was anything I could complain about. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room that we were in was very clean. There did seem to be a noticeable police car presence in the parking lot for the better part of our stay, which made me wonder but I never noticed anything aside from the cars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rokkahulababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Newly renovated rooms are clean, comfy, spacious.
A best buy for not a lot of dough! Great breakfast - towels smell fresh, beds have soft comforters,?small kitchen is perfect and bathrooms are very clean. Do I really need to write more than 200 characters!?!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwilhelm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is very clean. Friendly and courteous staff.
Spacious rooms. Great free breakfast. Pool, gym, hotel transport, etc. Located in a nice place near an airfield. Overall it was a great place to stay and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hussam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel room was nice and very close to restaurants and shops. The hotel is very nice. It's very clean, the front desk staff was very friendly. No real complaints about the hotel Will return there. Did not eat breakfast there but it smelled very good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just arrived so I cannot fully comment on the facility but, after finding the price to be comparable to other local facilities, I selected this hotel based on the reviews.

I am not sure how long it has been under repairs but, two key things;
1) The staff should advise potential clients of the construction and,
2) A discounted rate should be offered, if for nothing less than the dust and odors.

Not too happy with this!

Room Tip: Ask if they are fully done with construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee-Kavee-ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Checked into this hotel for a 2 night stay on business. Was working at the Hilton in one of the convention rooms. We checked in late and the Girl on duty was amazing! See i had booked an employee rate room and i forgot my "white Card" for my check in. I promised to have it back to them in a couple of hours and they took my word. Thank you you so much!! And i did bring it back just as i had said. But the amazing part came when i arrived in my room.. SO CLEAN!!! we only had time to sleep for a few hours before we were off again to work.. The next girl in the morning at 4am (yikes!!) sent us off in the morning with a couple of Bananas! so sweet of her! Super late that night we arrived back to the hotel and we had decided that we were going to drive to NY city because we had never been. They gladly printed up the bill for me so i would have it for my records and saved our room just in case we made it back for our flight.
I recommend staying here to any one! sad to loose the staff as part of our home chain but glad to see such hospitality out there! Way to go!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfordgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hope you had a great time in Hartford and your visit to NYC. Thank you very much for the 5 star review! On behalf of the hotel and staff, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Address: 185 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites in Hartford, CT is located just five - ten minutes from downtown and at the crossroads of New England - Routes I-91 and I-84. The hotel is conveniently located 1.5 miles from the Hartford Convention Center, and is near the CT Expo Center, XL Center, Downtown Hartford corporate offices, The Mark Twain House & Museum, XFINITY Theater, Six Flags(R) New England, Goodwin Park Golf Course, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartford Hospital, and St. Francis Hospital are nearby as well, including Aetna(R), the University of Hartford, Trinity College and the Connecticut State Capitol building. Our patrons stay connected with business amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center. We also boast 943 square feet of meeting space, ideal for most meetings or events in Hartford, CT. Our hotel's location is a few miles from some of Hartford's most popular attractions. Take a tour through Hartford's many historic homes like the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and The Mark Twain House & Museum. You can see contemporary and classic works of art at the Wadsworth Atheneum or spend the day outdoors at Bushnell Park. Let our hotel in Hartford be your home away from home. Join us each morning for a full hot breakfast buffet, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, relax in our indoor whirlpool or get an invigorating workout in our fitness center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking in all Guest rooms and Public areas. This Hartford, CT hotel's location near downtown Hartford makes us the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We provide complimentary shuttle service to 7 miles radius within the greater Hartford area. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites today! Must be 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing