We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific "lump of lamb"”
Review of The Talbot Inn

The Talbot Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Talbot Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Ripley
Price range: $19 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A famed coaching inn with a restaurant in the leafy village of Ripley, just a short drive from nearby Woking, The Talbot is said to have been the place at which love blossomed between Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton. It's not just this tale that gives The Talbot such a sense of romance, from the traditional old beamed pub area to the glamorous glass backed restaurant, The Talbot is an obviously special place. Spacious and modern, the restaurant is light and airy during the day, a cosier feel falling over the room after dark, while outside, a beautiful garden and champagne terrace are the ideal al fresco spots. With an AA Rosette to its name, The Talbot offers food of a very high standard, garnering a mention in the Michelin guide. Chef Gavin Chilcott creates not only pub style classics, a must in the 15th century bar, but stylish modern British dishes with a strong focus on locality and seasonality.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I accidentally asked for Lump of land instead of Rump of Lamb. Lump or rump, it was terrific. Slightly underdone which made it SO tender! To walk into the Talbot Inn, it looks like a pretty normal pub, but carry on through, and you get to a lovely restaurant with one wall of glass, looking out onto a really pretty garden. One of the guests at our table got her food rather late, and her patience was rewarded with a free meal. Apart from that, all of us agreed that the food was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank merle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Merle23

Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your Rump of Lamb and the late meal was solved quickly for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Katarina Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited here for lunch on 1st August on Wowcher deal. Sat on pleasant terrace overlooking well groomed garden to have a drink and peruse the menu. Excellent menu and beautifully cooked food plus attentive service gave my friend and me a very pleasant experience.
Attractive restaurant; and all staff were extremely helpful, particularly our waitress Hannah who went out of her way to be helpful. Would highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank step4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Step4d,

Thank you for your lovely comments, I have passed the review on to Hannah and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Katarina Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went here weekend of 29th June on a Living Social voucher and paid £25 for a Room upgrade. When we return we will not be paying for the upgrade as although this does keep up in the old main building the rooms are a little tired.
Overall we enjoyed our overnight stay and the dinner was very good and you just chose off the main menu, which was excellent.
The drinks were a little expensive, however, for just a short walk you could save up to 50% on these prises as there are numerous [4/6] Pubs within a few hundred yards.
The atmosphere was good, restaurant nicely laid out and relaxing and the staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. We were definitely impressed with our stay here which is in a lovely location and will definitely be going back again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrahamC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear GrahamC68

Thank you for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal in the restaurant. I have passed the comments on to the team and hope to see you again soon at the Talbot.

Kind Regards

Katarina Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our first visit to the Talbot as someone had kindly given us a special voucher. Lovely old coach house & hotel as I thought it was just a pub. Staff in the restaurant where very attentive especially one whose name I did not get but keep me informed on the Wimbledon tennis. Service overall was good and the food was very good and reasonable portions, but some items not available on the night. I think paying extra for vegetables a little off putting especially when the prices are higher than some local restauarants. The glass restaurant part at the back was lovely in the evening especially when someone finally opened the patio doors. Overall a good experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jhulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Jhulke,

Thank you for your review I will pass your comments on to the team and hope that we see you again soon in the Talbot.

Kind Regards

Katarina Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had booked a table for five people. The purpose of the visit was a joint birthday celebration for two of the guests.There was no one to greet us when we arrived in the building, or in the restaurant, which was situated at the end of a filthily- carpeted corridor. We were disappointed to find that the menu was not the one shown on the website- had we been told this at the time of booking we would have gone elsewhere.
There was a choice of four starters, one of which carried a supplementary charge; four mains, one of which again carried a supplement, and four puddings. No vegetarian main course option. We then found that one of the main courses and one of the puddings were "finished". No alternatives were offered.
Had this not been a "special" occasion, we would have ditched the evening. This would have saved us wading through mains which tasted of nothing but salt, covered in greasy, glutinous gravy, and a so-called sherry trifle which largely consisted of cherry jam and raw schnaps.
By the time we left (10pm) the staff had all disappeared, reflecting the total apathy of the whole setup.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank kippercatSurreyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Kippercat,

Thank you for your review I am sorry that your meal was not you expected and if you could email me your issues on operations@thetalbotripley.com I would be more than happy to discuss them with you and see if I can change your opinion on us by offering you a complimentary meal.

Kind regards

Katarina Last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing