We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, a real home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dean Lodge

Dean Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Lodge
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic, a real home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Dean Lodge with another couple and their baby for (sadly only) one night at a friend's wedding. Mark and Sue were the most welcoming hosts, and they have a truly fabulous home. I wish we could have stayed longer! The bed was very comfortable, the rooms decorated very stylishly and the welcoming cup of tea and home made fruit cake was a lovely touch after a long drive. They were also very accommodating allowing our friends to leave baby there with a nanny during the wedding, I am sure many other places would not have been so. The breakfast the following morning was delicious with a great selection of cereals, fruits, breads and of course an amazingly cooked full English (all with local fresh produce) to set us off on our journey. I would not hesitate to recommend Dean Lodge to anyone, and I hope we have the opportunity to go back one day in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonviveur23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two wonderful nights here last week. The room is lovely, a comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with great towels. The little touches like fresh flowers and cake in the room added to the experience.

The breakfast from the juice, freshly made fruit salad to the cooked breakfast was outstanding - I had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

The hosts were wonderful, very welcoming and genuinely friendly and recommended a very nice restaurant for dinner.

Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breaston,derby
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Dean Lodge for three nights after reading the reviews and the reviews were not wrong.This new property is tucked away in a small village with pubs and restaurants a few miles away.mark is an excellent host with whom you can have a good conversation.We stayed in a double room which had a wet room,everything was spotlessly clean with tea making facilities and also either biscuits or cakes which are from a local farm shop.He will give you the breakfast menu at night for you to fill in.There is a good variety for breakfast with fruit,pastries and cereals and whilst you are eating these he will be cooking your breakfast.This is a very modern property in a very quiet area and although he has two dogs you will hardly hear a peep from them.If he has other guests you will all sit at the same breakfast table.If you need somewhere to eat at night Mark will supply you with a list of good local eateries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Dean Lodge overnight for a wedding and wish we could have found an excuse for a longer stay. What a superb house (with a very unique wood-burning stove) and lovely surroundings! We were made to feel very welcome by Mark who cooked us a lovely breakfast in the morning with fresh local farm produce, delicious homemade bread and jams and some good, interesting conversation.
Visitors from abroad would find this very good for day trips out to surrounding places of interest.
Absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B and B with our 14 year old daughter for one night last weekend. Mark was an extremely friendly and helpful host and made us all feel very welcome. The accommodation was clean and spacious and we had a fabulous and freshly cooked breakfast with good company thrown in at no extra charge! Just like staying with friends. Thank you!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Having escaped from the lazy cow, Dean Lodge came to our rescue. We explained how tired & desperate we were for sleep & they very kindly agreed to let us check in early. We were greeted with a warm welcome & shown to our tranquil room. We settled down to look through their recommendations & book somewhere yummy for tea.
After a refreshing nights sleep we got up for breakfast. I strongly recommend the smoked haddock rosti. A delicious way to start the day. There was an excellent selection of fruit, cereal & juices to tuck into whilst our breakfast was prepared.
We had a wonderful stay & will definately be back. They have peaceful surroundings beautiful modern accommodation & perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainegol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a delight. The owners have built a spectacular house and its a joy to share a small part of it as a B and B guest. Appointed to the highest possible standards, my room was magnificent with an en suite wet room. Mark cooked a wonderful breakfast (haddock rosti and poached egg) at a time that suited me. The peace and quiet was bliss. The location is an easy drive from Salisbury in a small village. I understand the village pub is to reopen very soon. You are bound to love this place and I defy anyone to suggest a nicer place to stay within 20 miles. The owners have two lovely dogs, but if you are not keen on having them around, I would mention it and Im sure Mark will steer them well away. Say hello though, two beautiful animals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowcliffe
6.3 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
3.3 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hare Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Lodge

Property: Dean Lodge
Address: Dean Lodge Loders Lane | Swallowcliffe, Swallowcliffe SP3 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swallowcliffe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swallowcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dean Lodge offers visitors a contemporary bed and breakfast experience in beautiful surroundings. Situated between the Cathedral City of Salisbury and picturesque town of Shaftesbury, it's an ideal base for exploring the South West's major attractions. Guest bedrooms are situated on the ground floor and feature en-suite wetrooms. Breakfasts are served in the open plan kitchen dining area on the first floor which in the summer opens out onto the hillside terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing