We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique location with panoramic view”
other travelers have booked this property
The view! Looking out of the picture window across the Loch towards the River Clyde
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view! Looking out of the picture window across the Loch towards the River Clyde
Paddle streamer waverley offers loch cruises from the pier during July and August Smart TV, wall mounted Flame effect Dimplex fire & large picture window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The view! Looking out of the picture window across the Loch towards the River Clyde
Paddle streamer waverley offers loch cruises from the pier during July and August
Smart TV, wall mounted Flame effect Dimplex fire & large picture window
Ample storage with a mirrored wardrobe.Beneath the bed there are 4 built in drawers
Kitchen units housing oven & ceramic hob with extractor fan above
Modern & well appointed with 32' Samsung Smart TV, Freesat box & WIFI router
Well insulated,warm, & equipped with 2 comfy reclining chairs each with a  footstool
Good quality double bed with comfortable Silent Night mattress & quality bedding
Quality furniture including extendable hardwood dining table with comfortable chairs
Modern kitchen units housing dishwasher & fridge freezer
View to the rear of the property from the kitchen
Lovely shower room with modern bathroom fittings  & large heated towel rail
Modern roomy double shower enclosure & Triton power shower
Lovely view from picture window looking to the left towards the historic Victorian Pier
some of the Maritime visitors seen from the window, a Clyde Puffer & Merchant ship
Blairmore Pier is free & always open, great for fishing and offers stunning views
Beautiful Loch Long, you often see porpoises, seals and a variety of seabirds
Early evening, the River Clyde, an ever changing view!
Reliable and regular bus service a few steps away
We look forward to welcoming you to The Old Post Office Blairmore
Autumn activity on the Loch, a naval exercise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blairmore, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Unique location with panoramic view”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Convenient studio accommodation with adjoining kitchen and shower-room. Centrally located in the picturesque lochside village of Blairmore. The view from this accommodation is superb. We enjoyed a memorable week walking, fishing, visiting nearby gardens and taking a brief cruise along loch Long on the Waverley paddle steamer that calls in once a week during the summer months at the Blairmore pier. The Blairmore pier is only a few metres from this rental. My wife and I enjoyed a comfortable, peaceful and very refreshing holiday. We can thoroughly recommend the Old Post Office, Blairmore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you for reviewing the Old Post Office.We are so pleased you had a good time including sailing from the pier on the Waverley and visiting local attractions. We hope you may return to enjoy all the area has to offer and we would love to welcome you back to Blairmore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muchado55
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cosy with Loch views”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The lead up to my visit was promising. Promptly answered and always helpful email correspondence with answers to the questions posed and reassuring information every time. Upon arrival, we were met by the delightful owners Stephen and Sylvia and the accommodation was explained and keys handed over. The accommodation is cosy and with almost everything you’ll need for a comfortable self-catering holiday. It was spotless too which is good. I would commend this place without hesitation and congratulate the owners on the pride and care taken to ensure everything within their powers is fulfilled to the highest possible standards. Visiting Pucks Glen and Benmore gardens and its cafe were highlights out of so many!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Hi both, Thankyou for the 5* review... we are pleased that we have had many 5* guests such as yourselves who have appreciated that we just want to ensure guest have a lovely holiday.
We are so pleased you visited local places of interest and some further afield. The cruise ships and submarine activity on the Clyde adds further interest... and recently otters were spotted in Loch Long (we are jealous we have not seen them!). Thankyou once again and we hope you will bear us in mind for a future trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdubj67
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm, cozy, great view of the loch and dawn. Very well equiped, look no further.”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A very well decorated and maintained small, ground floor flat. One room for sitting/sleeping, watching TV with 2 lounge chairs, double bed, small dining table, small wardrobe. A nice kitchen with enough good utensils, small fridge/freezer, dishwasher, cooker/oven. Small shower room/toilet. Outside utility room with a washer and dryer in. Well heated, lovely bed and chairs. Great views out the large main window on the loch and the dawn. Secure and safe, friendly and helpful neighbours, parking right outside. Bus stop opposite if needed. Hillsides and wild country just a couple of miles away, small town 6 miles away with supermarket, cinema etc, great pub 15 mins walk away for food etc - The Strone Inn. Great place to explore the Argyll and Bute area. You won't be disappointed staying here, lovely place, well worth the money. Only fault I could make, if I had to pick one, is the lack of storage like a chest or drawers or something although there are drawers under the bed. Quiet, beautiful area, people leave their doors open. Owners are nearby but leave you completely alone to enjoy your stay. I recommend the Old Post Office and I'm hard to please.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thankyou for staying with us and we are really pleased you had a lovely holiday.
We know you enjoyed exploring on foot, cycle and by car and appreciated the peace, quiet and beautiful scenery.
Once again I would thankyou for leaving the holiday let clean and tidy, it really helps us when preparing for our next guests. Shortly we welcome a guest back for the fourth time, and hope that one day you will return for another break.
We strive to provide good accommodation, facilities and service, and thanks to the great reviews from you and our other guests, we are in line to be awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable break”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was very comfortable with all we needed. Views fantastic and surrounding area so beautiful. we felt refreshed and rested and definitely not disappointed in our choice of The Old Post Office. Thank you to Stephen and Sylvia for their warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
Hi both we are so pleased that you had the relaxing holiday that you needed, and that the facilities & comfort of the accommodation were pleasing. We love it when people discover this area and enjoy what it has to offer. Thankyou once again as the great reviews our guests give The Old Post Office are truly appreciated by us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond D
1 review
“perfect week spent in the old post office in Blairmore.”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great stay at the old post office.
We can only think of positive things to say.
From the first meeting with Stephen & Sylvia, who were there to meet us, they were very helpful and a lovely couple, very friendly and explained everything to us.
The Studio is lovely, clean, warm and very comfortable, everything you could wish for for a peaceful holiday.
The view is to die for, couldn`t be nearer the loch, we spent most of the time we were in the studio sitting on the window seat watching the ever changing scenes on the loch.
Would we stay there again? yes!!
We are already planning to go again next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thankyou both for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are so pleased to welcome guests to Blairmore and know that they have enjoyed their holiday and the accommodation. We can take no credit for the wonderful views but we too still appreciate the scenery and are pleased others do too.
We send best wishes & we look forward to seeing you again next year... maybe there will be another cruise ship anchored in the Holy Loch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at The Old Post Office in Blairmore for a week and found it to be a perfect little base. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with everything you could possibly need (all utensils, kitchen appliances, washing machine, Netflix for those rainy days!). It really did feel like a home for the week. Steve and Sylvia were absolutely fantastic hosts (thank you both very much) being both friendly and extremely helpful without being at all overbearing. I would highly recommend The Old Post Office to anyone and we look forward to returning one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Hi both,
We hope you come back as it was a pleasure to meet you and we know you took every opportunity to experience many of the walks and visitor attractions within striking distance of Blairmore.
Thank you not only for the positive review of The Old Post Office, but your lovely comments about us too.
Thank you, and we wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thankyou for reviewing The Old Post Office, we are pleased you had a good holiday, loved the area & have kindly recommended us to your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing