We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful island escape.”
Review of Westbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westbourne House
Ranked #1 of 3 Millport B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful island escape.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently stayed at the Westbourne House with my husband when we were over on the island with the rest of my family staying at a rental flat.

I had previously stayed here six years ago and when I had to select somewhere to stay this year the Westbourne was my first choice as I have stayed in elsewhere on the island and it was nowhere near as nice.

Having stayed here six years ago I knew I wanted the same room as before and selected 'Bute'. As you can see from the photos below the view from the front of the hotel is spectacular, especially if you like to look at the sea.

The bedroom had a lovely big bed, a sofa area, a digital tv and tea/coffee facilities. The en-suite bathroom had a bath with a shower and it was very clean and modern. The Wi-Fi available was also a big plus.

The hotel from top to toe was spotless and have no complaints.

The breakfast time is a small window between 0830-0900. While I would to have preferred to have ate a bit later whilst on holiday the breakfast certainly is something to get up for.

The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were a welcomed change to the usual cooked breakfast however the bacon and haggis available were delicious.

Would definitely stay here again!!!

I have been going to Millport for 25 years so knew where the Westbourne was located. I was bringing my car on to the island anyway but if you are travelling on public transport it is a 15/20 minute walk from the bus stop.

Room Tip: Select one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katt1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely and positive review on Trip Advisor, hope to see you both again soon, Many thanks Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I did not stay in Westbourne but it looked absolutely stunning on the several occassions we walked past. The grounds and the accommodation looked spotless and the views over the water were amazing form the road so must have been absolutely wonderful from the caravans and lodges. Unfortunately, for me, they did not accommodate tourers which is why I booked to stay in the Millport Holiday park....and what a dump. £20 an night for electricity, one rusty old tin cludgy (outside loo) and I had to pay extra for the filthy showers!! So PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT MISTAKE THE STUNNING WESTBORNE HOUSE WITH THE DISGUSTING MILLPORT HOLIDAY PARK!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank amthepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a night at westbourne house as a birthday gift. Thank you so much for all your help from information about local restaurants to your lovely personal touches at breakfast and in our rooms. You made our stay a fantastic family getaway. The decor,cleanliness and comfort is second to none and your breakfast is delicious! The views and setting were so chilled and relaxing too. We really enjoyed our stay and will happily recommend westbourne house to our friends and family. Look forward to returning soon! Best wishes

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Manager at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Lisa and Family
It was a pleasure having you all to stay, thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you all again, (maybe another celebration) Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Have stayed at Westbourne House a number of times, and is always a great experience. Immaculate accommodation, stunning views and the breakfasts set you up for a day of cycling! Great hospitality from Jane and Stuart and always feel safe as a solo traveller. Location also excellent, close to the main street (about a ten min walk) but very peaceful and quiet and feel like you are far away from the hustle and bustle of daily life!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyclelover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi LM

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again this year and the weather was fab too, see you next year Jane and Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Visited this weekend with missus, 2 kids and my parents. Westbourne House is immaculately kept, fresh and traditionally decorated with a modern twist, spotlessly clean, breakfast was superb and Stuart and Jane the hosts are very friendly with lots of advice to offer on where to go on the island. If we go back then there is only one place we are going to stay at. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi All
Thank you for your warm comments and compliments, it was lovely to meet you all, our two were really jealous,they did not have a loom band each.
Thanks again Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a great trip to Millport staying in a caravan at westbourne house. Jane and Stuart couldn't have been friendlier or helpful. The accommodation was excellent. Spotlessly clean and very safe for the kids (aged 4 + 2). we have stayed in Millport quite a few times and the caravan provide flexibility that many holiday lets/ flats can't. Looking forward to going back at some stage next year. Lovely to return from holiday with young kids and actually feel relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We were delighted to read that you and the boys enjoyed your stay at Westbourne Caravan Park, hope to see you all again soon.

Many thanks Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Visit Millport frequently but we have never stayed at Westbourne House before.
Great room, great views, great breakfast and terrific hospitality from Jane and Stuart. We'll done!!
We were fortunate to be there during the best weekend of the year so far but would still have been happy there if the weather hadn't been so good.

Well done
John and Marion

Room Tip: Wonderful views from front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyremanjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi You Two

It was a pleasure having you both to stay at Westbourne (especially all the compliments), so glad that you had such a lovely time, having not visited the island for so long, (you didn't leave anything behind Marion), but that’s no excuse not to visit again soon.

Many thanks Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
5.4 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,470 reviews
4.9 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,114 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#12 of 24 in Largs
56 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Property: Westbourne House
Address: Westbourne House West Bay | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering cottages and static caravans available sleeping a maximum of 4 plus a baby, min 2 nights stay during low season, 3 , 4 and 7 nights during high seasons, please see website or telephone for further information. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing