We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor problems but would definitely stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I was in New Haven for a job interview and the university bringing me in arranged and paid for my staying here. It is in an ideal location, right next to a major freeway. The parking lot seems a bit small, although signs said there was more parking on the other side of the building. The lobby area is beautiful and the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool looked inviting but I don't swim. The room was quite spacious although the window faces out to a corridor so there is no view to the outside. There are two concerns in particular: first is that the heating/AC unit is set at the back of the room and so it is somewhat inefficient in getting the heat or AC out to the front of the room. Second, the shower head was a little bit inadequate and at the same time the tub tends to fill with water because the drain doesn't stay open fully. There is a restaurant adjacent but I didn't eat there. There are plenty of dining options not far from the hotel, especially an abundance of pizza joints. I stayed two nights and felt safe and comfortable. One warning: the mattress was very firm and I found it too hard for my liking. Still, I was very satisfied with my stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgoody53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

On the positive side, all the staff we met were pleasant and courteous - with the exception of the maid who came in to clean our room at 10:00 AM, much to our surprise (checkout is at 11:00).
The bed was a full, not a queen. Intimate, yes - comfortable, no.
There is no keycard entrance - you come in through the lobby, period.
Three bath towels were provided, one of which had several long thick dark hairs infiltrating the tufts of the terry cloth. My blond wife assessed my bald pate, and we both came to the conclusion that the offending hairs did not come from either of us.
The shower required constant "resetting"; that is, the plunger which directs the water to the shower head would pop, redirecting the water to the tub fill.
There was an unreasonable amount of light and noise entering the room from the hallway. Turning the A/C fan on took care of the noise, but the light filtering from under the door and around the curtains kept the room from being anything but dark no matter what time it was.
We had lunch at the Town House restaurant. Excellent service, but the food almost made participation at our event that evening a physical impossibility.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lachewpacabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Easy to find (right off the highway), very friendly and accomodating staff, and great restaurant next door. My young daughter and I were in the area for a dog show seminar, and had our dog with us; he was also welcomed and made to feel comfortable by the staff, and the room was fresh and clean. LOVED the no-smoking policy throughout the hotel, and loved the fact that our room had a door that opened to the hall, and another that opened directly outside so we could take our dog out to relieve himself. VERY comfortable beds. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danelle1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Stayed here only because visiting friends in the area. Room was very clean and comfortable - but very dark with the only window leading onto a corridor. Aircon a little noisy. Had a pool which we didn't use but looked fine. Restaurant next door did great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoesandkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family and I stayed here for the Fourth of July weekend. We chose the hotel because it was close to relatives we were visiting. While it is obvious the hotel has been around a while, it is renovated like new and spotlessly clean.

DISLIKED

The air conditioning was tricky. We had a suite. If the bedroom was comfortable, the sitting room was freezing. If the sitting room was comfortable, the bedroom was hot.

You need a car to get to New Haven.

LIKED

Quiet. There was a Little League team staying the weekend and we never heard a thing.

Nice touches: This is the first time I have ever had a night light in a hotel room that actually worked! Also, a couple to the wall switches had lights to make them easy to find. The closet had some hooks as well as hangers.

This was the first time in a long time that there were enough towels for all four of us. Usually, you have to ask.

The restaurant on the property (Town House Restaurant), but across the parking lot, had decent food, incredibly fast and friendly service, long hours, and did carry out if you ask.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReluctantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Nice Place. We have stayed here a couple of times while vsiting my relatives. Positives-friendly staff, Convenient to Wilbur Cross Pkwy, clean rooms. Negatives: very small property--basicaly a parking lot right next to freeway. Despite this i recommend it because it is pretty quiet despite location and staff is friendly and helpful. You could drive to New Haven/Yale from here in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernerjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We were in Hamden for a dog show. It was a bit more expensive than I would have liked, but absolutely worth it. It was very clean, which is hard to find anymore, the wi-fi worked good, quiet , pleasant staff. It was just a great stay. We did check out the place down the street. Didn't look good at all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank followginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamden
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
2.7 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hamden
165 reviews
9.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
17 reviews
6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
5.3 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Address: 2260 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT 06518-3505 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hamden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Price Range: $80 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven counties newest premier hotel. The Clarion will immediately impress any guest. The polished marble lobby is lavishly decorated with inviting furniture and a fireplace that will warm any traveler. The hotel features 103 guest rooms including 16 state of the art suites. The hotel is minutes from Yale, Quinnipiac, Southern and New Haven Universities. All rooms include free parking, indoor pool and jacuzzi, free high speed internet and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel Hamden
Clarion Hamden
Hamden Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing