We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
co mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

My parents (one of whom is disabled) and myself stayed here recently for a family reunion. We used the hadicapped suite and I must say it was a wonderful hotel. Very clean, very friendly, very efficient. I did not use pool as i heard water was bit cool but that was alright. I
slept in pull out bed and first night there was no sheets for sofa. Called reception 5 mins later sheets arrived and bed made for me. I really have to say my father was hesitant about bringing my mother who is disabled but is already planning a return visit - this is incredible to my family!!! i dont write reviews but i feel there should be acknowledgement when the job is done correctly and they do that. Thank you Clarion for making our trip so much easier!!!!

  • Liked — friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — pool water was cool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karenCoMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    38
    24
    15
See reviews for
60
24
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SI NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Good choice for visiting nearby Quinnipiac University. Rooms were nicely appointed and clean. Staff was very nice. Restaurant on the property was also very convenient, especially for breakfast as there are not many choices in the area. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank college11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed at the Clarion in Hamden for 3 nights - and thought it was great. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful with a nice sense of humor.

Our room was great (we were upgraded to a junior suite - which had a sitting room and two TV's but an annoying hallway and little extra room in the bedroom). The beds were extremely comfortable, as were the pillows. Nice big bathrooms with all the amenities. Nicely sound-proofed - we thought the several groups of teenagers in the rooms across the hall from us would be a problem, but we never heard them.

Front parking lot was small, but we found the one in back pretty much empty and closer to our room anyway.

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — The parking lot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DogAgility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

If you"re looking for something close to the local colleges in Hamden for great service, quality for price, and cleanliness this is the hotel for you. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn - nice, not as updated with room ammenities and same price range. Big exception, train goes by behind hotel 2-3 times during the night. If you are a heavy sleeper, this may not bother you....I am a light sleeper - so it did.
I also stayed at the Days Inn on Whitney Ave. in Hamden (down the street from Quinnipiac University) "Don't - Don't - please don't make this mistake!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dirty, Dirty,Dirty - sounds like a truck stop all night!! Smelled aweful and once I checked in had an terrible time getting help from the desk staff for anything (example: for t.v. remote that didn't work, etc....)"

"Clarion is a wonderful hotel on all acounts!!!!" Thomas, one of the desk managers couldn't have been any nicer. Very friendly and accommodating! "I will stay again....and I am spreading the word to other parents who don't live close and need a local stop over hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Superior Staff, Quiet, Quality for the price, Location
  • Disliked — restaurant in separate building - next door
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CollegeMomBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

Traveling with a teen, we found the Clarion suites comfortable and affordable. The room was clean, service was pleasant and efficient. The wi fi worked perfectly for us. The small restaurant had pretty good food, burnt coffee, but great friendly service.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, soft bed, helpful with directions
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sueneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamden
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.7 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Hamden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
9.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
5.3 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden

Property: Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden
Address: 2260 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT 06518 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hamden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Haven counties newest premier hotel. The Clarion will immediately impress any guest. The polished marble lobby is lavishly decorated with inviting furniture and a fireplace that will warm any traveler. The hotel features 103 guest rooms including 16 state of the art suites. The hotel is minutes from Yale, Quinnipiac, Southern and New Haven Universities. All rooms include free parking, indoor pool and jacuzzi, free high speed internet and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Hamden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Hamden
Clarion Hotel Hamden
Clarion Hamden
Hamden Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing