We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitney Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

nice small property, clean and comfortable, staff very nice will visit Connecticut again and I will be staying here for the value and comfort and location great for where I have to go Price is terrific

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    39
    33
    36
See reviews for
56
22
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for close to a month while in Hamden on business. Unfortunately there is not a lot nice to say about it. First off, the rooms are small and very cramped. The room I was in had roaches! Most of the staff was not very friendly and frequently acted like you were bothering them when you went to them for assistance. I would not recommend this particular hotel to anyone. I would recommend that if at all possible, avoid it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamden hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed there last week for 2 days. It was our great experience again because we use to stay there quite often. We have to come to new haven frequently and we found this place to be very inexpensive with great services. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and neat. Bed was very comfortable. They also provided morning breakfast. It was simple but we liked that. I recommend this place to everyone who are looking for good place with affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff was ok, except this one lady behind the deck, she wasnt helpful. Once we enter into our room, we notice that we need another comforter, we were there 12/28-30 ( winter season/snow on the ground) she said that they didnt have anymore available (hotel was sold out) but yet only two cars in the parking lot. Not to mention their was no clock in the room, she didnt even believe us until she brought one to our room and notice it was missing, & said she will have to get on house keeping, cause if something is miss they were suppose to report it. Hotel is right off interstate 91 & you will hear every vehicle that will pass by. Bed was uncomfortable, only good thing about this hotel was the continenetal breakfast. The mircowave in the room, has a start/stop button, in order to start the microwave you have to push the center part of that start/stop button, that was neat :/ . The Queen that I was with, She is simple, but She wasnt very happy at all, I even think She mention about looking for another place to stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljack71556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharrmais G, Guest Relations Manager at Whitney Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed to know that your experience with us was not a satisfying one. We continuously strive to provide excellent service via each department of our hotel and deeply apologize that this wasn't the case during your stay at the Days Inn in Hamden. I want to let you know that your comments were shared with our Front desk & housekeeping staff and additional training has been provided to ensure we meet our guest's expectations. As for the comfort of the beds, we understand our guests may prefer a different level of firmness, that is why we provide bed boards to adjust accordingly. Regarding the hotel occupancy, we were indeed full due to hosting of wedding guests from the Cascade Banquet facility. We hope you will give us another chance to show case our excellent customer service skills. Please feel free to contact our Manager on Duty with any future requests in order to better accommodate you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Needed a quick place to stay as I was traveling for Thanksgiving towards Pennsylvania, and I was getting tired and it started to snow. I used an iPhone app to find me a room at 11pm, and this place was about 3 miles away. Got a really great room rate (under $60 after taxes).

I was greeted by a friendly staff member and caught a Seinfeld episode on TV and went right to bed. No complaints, The bed was comfortable, the heat worked just fine, the blinds closed all the way and didn't let any light in.

What really kind of killed it for me though, was flicking on the light in the morning for a shower and finding a cockroach on the bathroom counter. Right where I left my toothbrush (which went promptly in the trash).

A real turn off.

I like to be lenient in these reviews and give credit where credit is due, but a cockroach really seems like a preventable thing you should keep up on, especially when you're so close to the highway and you're probably going to get a lot of one-night travel-through type of travelers like myself.

I'll spend the extra bit of money I saw for other hotels in the area next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenzee617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here overnight while in New Haven on business. Cheapest place on the Booking Tonight site. Staff was pleasant, got the type of room I had requested. Standard continental type breakfast. Room was dated but clean enough. There were some noisy people for a while but they settled in. The worst part of staying here was the noise from the traffic roaring by less than 100 feet away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharrmais G, Director of Sales at Whitney Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay . I'm glad that you choose us for price of our hotel and that the front desk staff was pleasant also your issue on the noise disturbance has been addressed to the appropriate person and assure you that this won't happen again.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your visits in the future.

Thank you
Dharrmais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamden
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
8.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitney Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitney Inn & Suites

Property: Whitney Inn & Suites
Address: 3400 Whitney Avenue, I-91 & Route 40/10 Exit 10, Hamden, CT 06518-1954
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hamden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitney Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Quinnipiac University, Yale University and North Haven. You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Whitney Inn & Suites Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free Daybreak continental breakfast, free USA Today newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel.You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Days Inn Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel. LOCAl ATTRACTIONS:Head to downtown New Haven or North Haven for great restaurants and a bustling nightlife, just a short drive from our Hamden, CT, hotel. Grab your sunscreen and towel for fun in the sun on nearby West Haven beaches, or explore the recreated 19th century seaside village and other fascinating exhibits at Mystic Seaport. If you are visiting in the fall, enjoy a spectacular fall foliage tour before indulging in some retail therapy at Tanger Outlet Center or Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets.We are in a prime location for prospective students and visiting parents, with Yale University, Quinnipiac University, Albertus Magnus College and Southern Connecticut State University all nearby, and the University of New Haven just 15 miles from our Hamden, CT, hotel. DINING OPTIONSEnjoy fine Italian dining paired with excellent wine at Ristorante Luce, or play pool, sing karaoke, catch TV sports action or listen to a live band as you enjoy delicious food at Whitney Bar & Grill, just a half mile from our hotel in Hamden, CT. Enjoy authentic Indian fare at Cumin India, or head to Louis's Lunch, touted as the Birthplace of the Hamburger. Try Eli's on Whitney for sophisticated American fare, Kumo Japanese Restaurant for Asian flavors, or if you are in the mood for tasty pizza, Pepe's Pizza is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whitney Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamden Hotel Hamden
Hamden Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing