We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It happens but, Really?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitney Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“It happens but, Really?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The clerk was friendly. The check in process fast. But when I got to my room, there was a guest already there: a roach walking across the the dresser drawer. In trying to see if there were more _I didn't see any_ I saw that there was trash behind the dresser. Wrappers, cups, etc. So I went back to the front desk and asked the clerk for a different room. It was late and I just needed to sleep. She asked why, so I showed her a picture of the roach. She called over the manager and told him what happened. And he was hostile. Like I was trying to pull a fast one. Whatever. I did get a different room, a clean one, and I did not see any bugs. But what bothered me was the attitude. Dude, the room was dirty, and with a bug. Should have been apologizing instead of being hostile. Lesson: stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jose I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    39
    32
    36
See reviews for
55
22
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kendall Park
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

simple hotel nice reasonably priced hotel to lay your head for a night. Found it be on the older side but clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharrmais G, Director of Sales at Whitney Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
898 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,794 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I wound up at this Days Inn for two nights after learning that there was no record of my reservations at a Super 8 about 50 miles away.

Although the motel is close to the road (Route 40), noise from the traffic drops off after 11:00 PM. I had no trouble getting to sleep either night; and I am not one to doze off in 10 minutes.

My room was clean enough. The bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom was larger than the usual in a budget motel. I appreciated the refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker in the room. The cord on the microwave oven did not reach the socket. To use the microwave, I had to carry it over to the nightstand and plug it into the socket on the light fixture. A “plus” was that the fridge was larger than usual.

The TV was analog; but, it had 44 channels that included premium movie channels.

The room also had a desk, iron, ironing board, and hairdryer.

The in-room hairdryer did not work. The office gave me a portable hairdryer, but I couldn’t use it because the two electrical sockets in the bathroom did not work.

The Wi-Fi was working the first night but not the second night or the next morning.

The desk staff was courteous enough and tried to address the issues.

This motel needs serious updating, repairs, and improvements.

But, I survived my stay here.

The continental breakfast included bagels, Danish, muffins, English muffins, Corn Flakes, Raisin Bran, packaged oatmeal, apple juice, orange juice, tea, and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharrmais G, Director of Sales at Whitney Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us your valuable feedback. I'm truly sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your issues have been addressed to our maintenance team and appropriate actions has been taken to resolve it.
I wish to thank you for your valuable comments as they allow us to monitor and improve continuously.
Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope that this situation does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamden hotels

Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton at an inexpensive price, this isn't it. If you are looking for a safe, inexpensive place for a one night stay, you will be fine here. People were friendly on the phone when I called. The person at the desk had everything all prepared when I got here.
I read all the reviews before I booked. Yes the road is noisy, but I survived. They made an attempt to remodel, with new pictures, and general apprearance, but your still in a Days Inn and not the Ritz. Biggest disappointment is that the internet did not work in our room.

Room Tip: All double rooms are on the front, if you can get a King, get it on the backside, less traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharrmais G, Director of Sales at Whitney Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on our hotel. I'm pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service and comfort at the Day Inn in Hamden. We always strive to provide the best value under the sun and ensure that our supreme service along with our facilities meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very important to us as they tell us on how we are doing and how we can improve.
Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

make sure rooms are properly cleaned before renting. I found someone elses flip flops and lip gloss in the room underneath the bed and room (nonsmoking) smelled badly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Yesenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamden
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
2.6 mi away
Carriage House
Carriage House
#1 of 3 in Hamden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
9.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitney Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitney Inn & Suites

Property: Whitney Inn & Suites
Address: 3400 Whitney Avenue, I-91 & Route 40/10 Exit 10, Hamden, CT 06518-1954
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hamden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitney Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Quinnipiac University, Yale University and North Haven. You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Whitney Inn & Suites Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free Daybreak continental breakfast, free USA Today newspaper, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel.You can easily reach many Connecticut attractions as well as a number of colleges and universities when you stay at Days Inn Hamden hotel off Interstate 91 near Quinnipiac University. Our many free amenities include free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet access, fax and copy services and free parking. Make use of your in-room refrigerator and microwave or stay in one of our new oversized, executive rooms, complete with flat screen TV. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Hamden CT hotel. LOCAl ATTRACTIONS:Head to downtown New Haven or North Haven for great restaurants and a bustling nightlife, just a short drive from our Hamden, CT, hotel. Grab your sunscreen and towel for fun in the sun on nearby West Haven beaches, or explore the recreated 19th century seaside village and other fascinating exhibits at Mystic Seaport. If you are visiting in the fall, enjoy a spectacular fall foliage tour before indulging in some retail therapy at Tanger Outlet Center or Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets.We are in a prime location for prospective students and visiting parents, with Yale University, Quinnipiac University, Albertus Magnus College and Southern Connecticut State University all nearby, and the University of New Haven just 15 miles from our Hamden, CT, hotel. DINING OPTIONSEnjoy fine Italian dining paired with excellent wine at Ristorante Luce, or play pool, sing karaoke, catch TV sports action or listen to a live band as you enjoy delicious food at Whitney Bar & Grill, just a half mile from our hotel in Hamden, CT. Enjoy authentic Indian fare at Cumin India, or head to Louis's Lunch, touted as the Birthplace of the Hamburger. Try Eli's on Whitney for sophisticated American fare, Kumo Japanese Restaurant for Asian flavors, or if you are in the mood for tasty pizza, Pepe's Pizza is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitney Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamden Hotel Hamden
Hamden Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing