We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to Go.”
Review of Glenwood Drive-In

Glenwood Drive-In
Ranked #8 of 163 Restaurants in Hamden
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good to Go.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I usually stop at Glenwood to get Hotdogs and Cheeseburgers to take home. They do get crowded at times but the food is usually worth the wait. Nothing fancy but the food is Good to Go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elbie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Completely terrible - way overrated!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I know what you might be thinking, "Oh here is just another picky person finding flaws in something that's not too bad." Well that's what I thought too about the other reviews on here that were all 1 star. I ignored the bad reviews and went to try this place out anyway. That was a horrible mistake.

We walk in and there are tons of high school students working behind the counter, saying F*** this and F*** that right behind the counter with customers standing there. They were all standing around doing nothing while there is trash all over the floors, food scraps and spills all over the counters and tables, and extremely messy border-line illegal condiments section open to the air. The condiments bar had food poisoning written all over it. I got a hot dog and onion rings and my girlfriend got a hot dog with fries - all to the tune of $17. The price was outrageous and I was even more infuriated when I got the food. It was terrible and not even worth half that price. The batter on the onion rings was dry and flavorless. The fries looked like the ripple fries that you buy at the grocery store, but for 3x the price.

The staff were rude and wrestling each other behind the counter, swearing and talking about some girls they knew in less than savory terms. It was a terrible experience from beginning to end and I would recommend that no one even "tries" this place to see if this review was incorrect. You will be disappointed as well.

Additionally, anyone who says that this is the "Best Seafood in Hamden" is like saying that "the Earth is the best planet we live on". It means absolutely nothing and doesn't make up for the terrible quality of the environment or food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Drive-In”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Best Drive-In around, food is great, service is walk through which is quick and efficient. Thursday nights are collector car nights in the parking lot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood seafood and grill spot!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Glenwood has been a part of our family routine for ages. Known for their great grilled hot dogs and seafood dishes, Glenwood is a casual "pick your food up at the counter" place with classic take-out or eat-in dishes with a pleasant atmosphere. Check out the ice cream parlor, tho it is a bit pricey and enjoy classic car nights in the summer!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Seafood in Hamden.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Glenwood has great seafood and the best hotdogs. Adjacent to an ice cream shop with a great variety of homemade soups, salads and ice cream.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bottleofjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing