We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was very good here”
Review of Mickey's

Mickey's
Ranked #3 of 163 Restaurants in Hamden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
326 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Food was very good here”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ate here this week and I was very surprised how good the food was. I was surprised because this particular location in Hamden CT has been operated by many people and it always had the reputation of a bar food joint where the food was average at best.
The place is laid out like a bar primarily and the seating area is not very inviting.
Four of us had a variety of food: Fish, meat, pasta, shell fish...all food was top notch.

For the money, about 20% less than new have prices, this place is a real bargain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    55
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
371 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we dropped by this restaurant for lunch. The food is fresh and the bread is incredible. We had a wonderful green salad and chicken sandwich that we shared. The service was great. We are seldom in this area but when we come by again we will definitely come for lunch. We don't live in this area so dinner is very difficult.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still fantastic!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wrote a review over a year ago and thought I would update it as we have been very satisfied on many occasions. The other night we lost power and decided to go out to dinner at the last minute until the power came back on. We called and they gave us our favorite table. My husband had the salmon with Israeli spices and he said it was the best salmon he ever had... and I agree. He likes that it comes with couscous instead of rice or pasta- a little variety is so nice (of course, they will give you rice or pasta if you prefer). The waitstaff is very friendly. You will be very happy if you try Mickey's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sle3364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Seabury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good food, nicely prepared, fairly priced”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Mickey's has been our favorite Hamden restaurant for several years. We have never been disappointed with service or food quality and presentation. Their soups are delicious and come to the table steaming hot, which seems like a given, but doesn't happen in other local restaurants. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy outdoor seating seasonally.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mickey's Hamden, CT”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Always good service and good food. Wide range of choices on the menu. Courteous staff and pleasant surroundings. Love the bread that is from Bread and Chocolate down the street.
Wonderful salads as well as entrees.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goforawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's also viewed

 

Been to Mickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing