We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St Michaels Inn

The St Michaels Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St Michaels Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The food was superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My partner and I visited St Andrews for the day and stopped by this delightful hotel on the way. The staff were friendly and service was excellent - but the food itself was amazing. Never tasted venison before, but am now a fan. We are planning a trip to Scotland next year and have already decided that we'll be staying at St. Michaels Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
42
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paulajc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a weekend and really enjoyed it.
The service from staff and owners was excellent, really friendly and comfortable atmosphere.
The rooms were cosy and clean to a very high standard, had 2 very good nights sleep.
The location is just outside of St Andrews, takes no time at all to get there, we had a car, but there is plenty bus services from what i saw.
The food was amazing, really tasty and great selection, breakfast was especially yummy.
Prices were also very reasonable for food, drinks and room.
Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Me and my partner stayed in this lovely very homely hotel, friendliest staff always smiling. Good prices on rooms, we had our dinner and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxed, i ordered the steak pie n have to say my mouth was watering every mouthful i had was delicious. My partner had the gammon steak which have to say is well worth the price very juicy, perfect. So i would definately recomend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We visited the St Michaels with friends, we ordered lentil soup for starter, i took one mouthful and it tasted like warm dish water. We sent it back and the waiter returned and advised "the owner has tasted the soup and agrees it is tasteless" we were offered no apology or alternative.

When the main course arrived (steak pie) it was tiny, a small piece of pastry, 6 chunky chips.

Our friend found a piece of plastic in his steak pie.

The food was dreadful and when we raised our concerns the female member of staff had a dreadful attitude.

Definately wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Myself and my wife enjoyed a short break in th St Andrews area, using The St Michaels Inn as our base. I would definately recommend this hotel, not only for price but also for the food and the friendly staff. The room tends to get warm in the evening and being on a busy road the noise can be a nuisance, this however is a small price to pay and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Whent to St Andrews for a few day's holiday,and found this charming Hotel a five,ten mins just out side St Andrews.We went for food and for the price it was good and a very lot of food on the the plate.The staff were freindlay.So thought we would just stay here.We got a family room witch was good as the kids where in a room just off our's and had a big bathroom,the rooms wree nice and big,in the morning we went down for breakfast and had the full scottish,that set us up for the day trip out.All in all very good place too stay,the kids loved it there and want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a great time and the staff were so helpfull and our room was just perfect.
The breakfast was just fab and thank you to sarah for looking after us so well .
The bus service was very good every 15 minutes to St Andrews and it took us 15 miutes to get there .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sibina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Michaels Inn

Property: The St Michaels Inn
Address: St Michaels By Leuchars, Leuchars, St. Andrews KY16 0DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Leuchars
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Michaels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The St Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Michaels Hotel St. Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing