We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of Fife heaven!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View looking eastwards from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View looking eastwards from the garden
Living Room
Living room - dining area
Kitchen - Left side as entering back door
Kitchen - right side
Landing access to bedrooms and bathroom
Main bedroom
Second bedroom - set up with twin beds
Family bathroom
Shower-room
The Norman, St Athernase Church, which sits in the centre of the village.
Some quite remarkable sunsets can be found.
St Andrews Harbour
St Andrews Cathedral looking east.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Leuchars, St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_claire_p...
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of Fife heaven!”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a gorgeous cottage set in a lovely location with beautiful St Andrews just an easy 5 mile car trip away. The cottage is absolutely immaculate with everything the most discerning visitor could wish for. Beautiful fixtures and fittings including some lovely art work. A real home from home and lovely countryside views to boot! Eleanor and Keith have lovingly created the perfect holiday home. They are also incredibly generous with sharing their wealth of information on the local area enabling us to benefit from this wonderful location in Fife. Nothing was too much trouble.The ideal location for us whilst settling our son into the University at St Andrews - a town crammed with history. Don't miss the Cathedral, Castle and stunning beaches. Not many towns in the UK that can attest to those three features! A wonderful week and we can't wait to return. Thank you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you, Claire, we are delighted our holiday cottage was the ideal place for you and a place where you can enjoy the best of both worlds beautiful countryside yet so close to St Andrews. The beautiful Kingdom of Fife has just so much to offer visitors and we know there will be lots more to see when you return in the future. Best wishes Eleanor & Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review, delighted you were happy with our lovely holiday cottage and it was a pleasure having you and your family stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CarolRuby...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring the east nuek”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

A very clean and extremely comfortable cottage in a quiet location. An ideal place to get away from it all. Close to St.Andrews with nearby rail links to Edinburgh taking just an hour.
We have stayed in lots of cottages all over the British Isles and this was by far the most homely and well equiped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Delighted you enjoyed our holiday cottage and you found it to be a home from home. We do aim to reach as high a standard so that visitors do not feel they are lacking anything they would not normally find at home. Many thanks for confirming that we seem to be reaching this aim!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway57...
1 review
“It is first class holiday accomodation which cannot be beaten for shear luxury, comfort and cleanliness”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have stayed here in 2016 and 2017, 5 mins by car to beach and forest walks car parks great. St Andrews nearby has many attractions including numerous golf courses, lovely coastal villages within easy reach, also lots of interesting NT properties. Falkland Palace and Gardens worth a visit. Necessary amenities available in Leuchars. Plenty of information available from owners and in cottage itself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it has been a pleasure to have you stay in our holiday cottage and so pleased that you enjoyed your holidays at Pitlethie Steadings so much. Kind wishes, Eleanor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelafle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding, beautiful, welcoming Steading”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have stayed at Pitlethie Steading on countless occasions over the past 7 years and can not rate it highly enough. A beautiful location, and stunning accommodation, finished to the highest standard. Pitlethie Steading has everything you could need and more. The quality finishes throughout and thoughtful welcome gifts are one of the many reasons we return with family and friends. A brisk 15 minute walk will find you at Leuchars train station where you can hop on a bus to St Andrews and soak up the history, beaches and restaurants that St Andrews has to offer. Five Plus Stars for this outstanding home from home.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review, Angela - it has always been a pleasure to welcome you, your friends and your family over the years and a privilege to know that you have chosen our cottage to celebrate special birthdays with friends, an after wedding get away and family holidays over the years - long may it be your preferred holiday home from home. With our best wishes, Eleanor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2016

We had a super week here with friends, accommodation was perfect with every need catered for, even down to wine and chocolates.
We would recommend it for a relaxing stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Thank you so much David for adding your review, this is exactly what we want to hear from our visitors - a relaxing stay is what we all need from a holiday in order to recharge our batteries - glad you found it at Pitlethie Steadings! Kindest regards Eleanor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
1 review
“Best holiday home we've stayed in!”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A beautiful steading & immaculately decorated cottage with every attention to detail. I cannot fault it! After a power cut on our first night, the owners even let us stay an additional night! The kids loved the garden & thoughtful gifts & we appreciated the complimentary wine & treats! We wouldn't hesitate to return & will also be recommending it to friends & family, although perhaps we shouldn't share this gem as it'll get fully booked up!! Thank you for a lovely week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
So delighted you had such a happy holiday with the children at our cottage - even though there was a power cut due to the terrible lightning on your first night. We love to hear our visitors saying that they want to return and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Thank you for the great review. Best wishes Eleanor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing