We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Diner ... Pricey”
Review of Shoreline Diner

Shoreline Diner
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
NE
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Typical Diner ... Pricey”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Typical diner. Large menu. Anything you want. Diner-quality. More pricey than most diners in the area. Have gone there mostly for breakfast. Typically a few dollars more than other popular diners nearby. Easy off-on from I-95, exit 59 in Connecticut.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seven32009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    69
    32
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent food at too much cost”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I find it interesting that the ads for this diner you see on the highway emphasize that it is vegetarian and yet my Cobb salad had a huge amount of bacon on top of it! So it isn't vegetarian but serves vegetarian food (don't all diners?). My first disappointment is that I was expecting some special vegetarian dish. My salad was large and tasty though my husbands hash browns, which came with his large ommelette were tasteless. Portions are big but our meal, including two coffees at $2.50 each came to $25. Rather high for a diner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gattica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great variety, perfectly prepared, friendly service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wish they'd open up a west coast branch in Bellevue, Washington. My sister, brother-in-law and I went for breakfast here today. I ordered challah French toast, which was so flavorful it was noteworthy. Even the crusts were moist and delicious. The thickly cut bread was fluffy and perfectly cooked, as were our eggs. What was unusual was that 100% pure maple syrup was offered, in addition to sugar free. My brother-in-law had the corned beef hash, which is prepared on site -- no canned preparation here. Our server was friendly and appropriately attentive. I will definitely plan on returning here on future Connecticut visits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful With Home Made Bread and Desserts”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have eaten at the Shoreline Diner many times and have never been disappointed. Their Greek Salad comes with home made bread and seasoned olive oil. Their omelets, Gyros, Moussaka and hamburgers are great. Their Flan is the best I've ever had including Spain and Mexico. The wait staff is always helpful and ready when you need them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NianticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive for a diner!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with the family last week and was surprised by this place. The prices are outrageous for what you get. When I go to a diner I want quick, easy food for cheap. I was floored when I got the bill. I might as well go out for "fine" dining at that price.

On a positive note, our server was very nice and the food was ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jerinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline Diner also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing