We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

The Place
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Oh my goodness”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Funky and casual...simple food at its best! Need I say more? We had the salmon, lobster, ribeye, grilled corn, and clams. All were amazing! Bring your own wine to make this meal over the top! Curteous and attentive staff too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelFamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    90
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“food isnt the greatest and its way over priced”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Used to come to 'The Place' every year....but stopped....its just not worth what they charge. Yeah, it's a different experience...you eat outside while sitting on a stump of wood. But that experience isnt worth the difference in price. Whether it be steak, lobster, shrimp, fish, or chicken, your meal comes with NOTHING! Not even 1 side dish. Now again, i understand thats the concept at this restaurant...but if thats the concept, LOWER THE PRICES! A 1 1/2 pound lobster is $24.95 & like i said, includes NOTHING!....a rib eye steak?...$16.95 and includes NOTHING. So like i said, it's not worth the price. By the time you pay for stuff to make your own sides, bring them, and pay for your over priced protein, it can turn into quite the expensive night. In my opinion the best thing on the menu is the roasted corn on the cob...better than any corn i've ever had. Everything else on the menu is less than average and quite pricy. And stay away from the 'veggie kabob'...they wrap it in tin foil and it comes to the table a watery mess...again, not worth the price and they are always overcooked and watery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bucket List Stop”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one of those different enough eateries where the setting is the main attraction. It's more of an event than a meal. If you're ready, this is a great event made possible by the excellent staff, the sight of a fiery grill manned by busy high school kids and and your choice of company.

Originally called "Whitey's", owned and run by a remarkable curmudgeon named, well, Whitey, The Place is a summer seasonal outdoor eatery that was taken over/revived by two local teachers some 40ish years ago. Patrons sit on tree stumps (choose your height and number) around red tables (used to be wire spools). The menu is painted on boards nailed to a tree and features clams, steak, scrod, lobster, corn, some dessert and not much else. Plastic forks and knives are available.

Feel free to decorate your table and bring whatever you don't see on the menu: salads, bear/wine, etc.

Start with roasted clams (with sauce) then order roasted corn on the cob and a steak or a fish dish. The lobster is so expensive only city tourists bite. I love the bluefish when it's in.

The waitstaff tie it all together. Pleasant, patient, close by but never intrusive, let them set the rhythm and enjoy. They understand why you're there and what you should enjoy about the Place. You'll never be rushed out and always get a smile. We never think twice about a big tip.

It's open air, so bring a jumper on cool evenings. Rain won't stop them due to a sliding tent top.

The Place is a simple formula that works. Bring your friends and family and sense of humor and enjoy the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank US_Expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Bring your own side dishes, appetizers, and drinks....and enjoy the steak and corn. Easy to find and lots of tables, so no wait needed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roebling
Level Contributor
159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and decent food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What can you say about a 23-foot outside grill on which your food is cooked? We had lobster, and corn cooked on the grill and a key lime pie as desert. The lobster and corn were very good but not great, and the pie came out of a box. Lots of local folks bring their own salads, wine, and bread. The Place will close October 28th of 2013, so get there in a few weeks to enjoy this unique gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donkamienski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place also viewed

 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing