We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint place to dine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

The Place
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A quaint place to dine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Visitors and locals love the outdoor rustic character of this restaurant. It is seasonal, so get there in the summer. Check online for hours and dates. It's a fun afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank DENDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    90
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
342 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went here with my 82 year old mother, husband and 17 year old daughter and we all enjoyed it very much.

Sitting on the stumps was fun but my mother opted for a chair.

Small menu - not much choice if you are not a fish person - but what they do, they do well. Everything is cooked over an open pit while you wait.

My mother and I had the chicken (moist with delicious sauce), my husband had the bluefish (don't forget that it still has its skin on the bottom) and my daughter the salmon. They raved about their fish. Had the steamers too - deemed excellent.

We also got a piece of corn to try and the veggies - both tasty but a bit expensive.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Will definitely come here again when we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cab514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

On a nice weekend night in the summer, this place gets CROWDED! It is definitely an experience. This place is bare bones and minimalistic. Numerous round tables that seat 6-8 people on stumps around a rip roaring outdoor stove. The menu is basic with a selection of seafood and then a rib eye steak or BBQ chicken. Everything is basic but good. It's BYOB and you are welcome to bring anything else that will make your evening more enjoyable, I thought my seafood was delicious but have had the chicken in the past and wasn't impressed. Corn is cooked on the grill and dipped in butter. I have seen people bring their own table clothes, wine glasses, candles, salad, appetizers, etc. They are more than willing to provide you with plastic cups, paper plates and plastic utensils for anything extra you brought along. For the simplicity of this place, I think the prices are a bit high, but like I said the seafood was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seafood! Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is awesome! You sit outdoors on stumps ("put your rump on a stump" is on the t-shirts you can buy) and watch your food cooked on a huge outdoor BBQ grill that uses wood fire flames to cook seafood, BBQ chicken and roasted corn. The seafood is great - we had a dozen shrimp which were huge and wonderful and clams on 1/2 shell which I don't care for anyway because they are rubbery. The roasted corn is to die for - it is cooked in the husks which are roasted if not burned but do not worry, the corn is not burned but is a wonderful smokey flavor. There are beverages but it is BYO alcohol if wanted. It is on Boston Post Road not far from I-95 so whether you are taking the freeway or the back roads down the coast, it's easy to get to. NOTE: no credit cards, cash and check only!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
453 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Put your rump on a stump”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a chance to sit next to the owner tonight and got a brief history of "The Place". He's owned it since 1971 and his daughter happened to be our server tonight. She was very helpful and friendly. It's a bare bones outdoor fire pit offering mostly clams, mussels, shrimp, fish, lobsters, chicken, strip steaks, veggie kabobs and corn. That's it, no side dishes, potatoes or salads. The policy is BYOB, along with sides, salads, tablecloths and even drinks (though they do have sodas & bottled water. I've read other reviews complaining about the prices, but I had a hunk of really fresh bluefish that was twice the size I'd get in any other restaurant. It was grilled, wrapped in foil with butter, lemon, salt & pepper, for just $9.95. A dozen roasted clams are $10.95 and a piece of freshly picked grilled corn is $2.75. There were 3 of us and our bill was just under $70. Yes, you sit on a stump but you pay much more than that elsewhere for 3 people and don't get the enjoyment of sitting outside and watching them cook your dinner on a roaring fire pit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Place also viewed

 

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing