We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SOM SIAM Thai Restaurant

SOM SIAM Thai Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We started going here when it first opened in Guilford somewhere around 2000, and we just LOVED it. Since the, they have opened another restaurant in Old Saybrook which is much larger. The service in the Old Saybrook location is good, but the service in Guilford has become pretty bad. The food is still good, but not quite as good as we remember. We love good Thai food, and when we get that "yen", we go to the Old Saybrook location.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RawDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shaky on consistency, okay food but shaky customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

okay, so I NEVER send my food back at a restaurant; being a former waitress, I wouldn't dare. Here I order a fresh spring roll (LOVE these). I am eating and lo and behold, I find in my mouth, a STAPLE.
Waitress asks me if all is okay, I say I found a staple in my food. Nothing from her. I get my order, eat the entree, she comes and asks if she can wrap up my fresh spring roll. I say, I found a staple in my food. No response. When I am paying my bill, I find the Spring rolls on the bill. I ask for the manager. He is completely apathetic, doesn't care. After arguing, he says, 10% off the bill. I am fuming but I pay anyway. 10% off the bill does notcover the price of the spring rolls. I now live in Guilford, I love Thai food, but I will NEVER NEVER NEVER go back here.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank leesuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai one on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great food, low prices, very fresh, curry soups are excellent, very friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very nice athmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

we have had several good experiences there. service and food quality was very good and authentic. the prices are moderate. i recommend this restaurant

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrBrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I like this restaurant but it's not my first choice for Thai.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

I like this restaurant but it's not my first choice for Thai.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOM SIAM Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to SOM SIAM Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing