We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Farm Stand on Steroids”
Review of Bishop's Orchards

Bishop's Orchards
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Guilford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“A Farm Stand on Steroids”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Bishops used to be a quaint farm stand and pick your own orchard. Now it rivals Stew Leonard's even boasting its own vineyards and wine tasting bar. The wines are made from pear and apple and seem pretty tasty (and pricey). They still have tons of fruit and veg, including their own in-season strawberries, blueberries etc. They also bake their own pies on premises.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    13
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great wine”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We only went to Bishop's Orchards to try out the wine tasting this past weekend. We had no idea what to really expect since we read about the grocery store being there as well. The place was actually really neat. My review is only on the wine, not on the rest of the place (although the sections we walked through looked really neat and seemed to carry some interesting stuff) It's not your typical wine tasting. There's no place to sit down and enjoy a view. It's inside the grocery store in the back. They carry a bunch of local CT wines that you can buy, including the MANY choices they offer. The wine tasting was a bargain at $6 for 6 wines. What was neat about this wine tasting is that each of the six categories offered a couple choices for the taster to choose. The place was very busy when we got there, but they still explained the wines and what they liked about each one. They were knowledgeable about the wine and very friendly. All the wines are made from fruit grown there - none are made from grapes. Check out their website for a full listing of what they offer. It would have been nice for a place to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine like other vineyards, but we loved the wine they sold there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tigg189074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, ct
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great orchard to stop and get some tasty food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bishops orchard is one of my favorite places to stop at during the fall. They have an excellent variety of produce, dairy, meat, bakery, and pre-made foods. They also have their own wine made from apples, pears, etc that are grown on premise. They also have pick your own fruit, a petting zoo for the kiddies, and fresh kettle corn popped outside all fall long. Nice place to stop!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“a great place to shop”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

More expensive, but quality products. They move alot of product so you don't have to worry about their produce being old or about to go bad. Love the environment, nice people. Summer and fall is our favorite time to visit during the apple picking or getting a pumpkin but be prepared for crowds at those times of the year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bdaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What can you say! This place has it all!!!

....Including a great selection of local wines.

Produce - great
Pastry/breads - great
Dairy/cheeses - great
Meats - great

I love this place!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank iCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's Orchards also viewed

 

Been to Bishop's Orchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing