We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Restaurant on the shoreline!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guilford Bistro and Cafe

Guilford Bistro and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurant on the shoreline!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is simply one of my favorites. The Bistro is a BYOB establishment that serves phenomenal, hearty Italian fare. Reservations are a must for evening. Service is always impeccable: we had Craig when we went and he took care of every possible need before we could even think of it! My favorites are the porcini mushroom ravioli, the filet w/lobster ravioli special, and the penne alla vodka. Lunch is great too: the wraps and salads just hit the spot.

Don't miss the Guilford Bistro!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajmiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    40
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stopped in for a quick meal and was glad i did..not only was the food excellent, the service awesome, but the place had charm and culture. I also admire the option to eat outside under the Pergala, which is a fantastic addition to the restaurant. I have driven by several times during the summer where I noticed people enjoying their meal outside. not only looks sturdy, but adds to the experience.

I had the salmon on salad which was fabulous..also tried the cheese cake whcih was fresh and tasty. Will be back often now that we tried it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Decent food, service so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

4 of us had lunch here the other day. Salads and wraps. The waitress started out very good but went downhill from there. She never came back to ask how everything was. She never refilled our empty water glasses and she let us sit with napkins on our plates for a good 10 minutes before clearing the plates.
The veggie wrap was really greasy and I had to use a knife and fork, I needed more napkins too but oh well. The salads all looked good that the others had. The french fries were very crispy and hot. Overall decent and I would go back to give them another try. The menu had a nice variety of things to chose from. The atmosphere is cute.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunstarsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“one of the best places to eat in Guilford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went last Thursday night with my wife and mother. We all had something different. The atmosphere is nice, the waitstaff diligent and knowledgeable. The food was very good, We had an appetizer and deserts as well, which were very tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rupertknickerbocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was fortunate enough to be able to try the argula salad with filet mignon. The salad was simple but delicious topped with fresh parmesean slices on top. Three very generous and mouth watering filet mignons. Great bread slices with olive oil and parmesean cheese with ground pepper. My husband tried the sushi tuna it was cooked to his specifications (almost raw) and he loved it. This will be a regular on our dining stops. Oh, the waiter was just great. Attentive and service was prompt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonesConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guilford Bistro and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Guilford Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing