We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Temporary Stay Hotel....”
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Groton
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    150
    160
    134
    115
See reviews for
274
217
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VINCENTOWN
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I think that the hotel is undergoing an updating, but on the whole the place gave the appearance of being neglected and not well tended. The room was a standard double room, but the configuration was quite strange. The bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom proper, but all of the towels were located in the bathroom--to make things more difficult, there was no place to hang a towel or washcloth by the sink and all of the shower materials (shampoo, conditioner, etc) was located on thesink, not by the tub While part of the room had been painted, the bathroom door was warped and had peeling paint, rust stains by the hinges and there was mildew on the shower curtain. There were cobwebs in the ceiling corners and the air unit was very dusty and dirty. There was dust along the baseboards and in the corners. On the positive side the beds were comfortable and the towels were clean and soft, but. housekeeping was an obvious problem. The rug was fraying . The door from the lobby to the parking lot was really dirty, I would not stay in this hotel again and would not recommed it to anyone. My friend and I agreed that we had never stayed in a hotel this bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank MARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHFIELD SPRINGS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 3 rooms as this was a family trip. Everything was clean and we had comfortable beds. We used the pool and hot tub both of which were clean and water temp was perfect. Breakfast had a variety of choices, we had a total of 12 in our group ages 5 to 63 and we were all able to find something we liked. One room had a problem with the air conditioning, it was resolved to our satisfaction. I can't say enough good about the person running the front desk, Eric did everything he could to make sure our stay was a good one. We will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank ANN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Ann Y...Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We were glad to hear you and your family had a great time here. It is always our aim to have each and every guest fully satisfied with their stay. We look forward to the next time you visit. Again, thank you for your compliments regarding your stay and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed in Ramada Inn, Groton, in Sep 2012. There is bed bugs infestation. we got a lot of bites. Moved out as quickly as was possible. So, beware!
Selected this hotel because of not bad reviews. The hotel is cheap of course but bed bugs are not acceptable even for the cheapest place!. The breakfast was OK.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, General Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I regret to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay. Our staff here at Ramada-Groton strive to ensure each and every guest's stay not only meets their expectations, but exceeds them. With regards to your contention of a bed bug issue, because it is the nature of our business that our guests often use a number of hotels during their vacations or business trips, Ramada-Groton employs a professionally administered integrated pest management system to ensure we do not fall susceptible to what so many others in our business have--even many of the so called high-end hotels--encounters with unwanted pests. While we are unaware of any instance of a bed bug problem here, we do encourage all our guests that any issue they may have should be addressed during their stay with the appropriate staff so that it can be promptly remedied. Personnel's notes and guest/staff communications are reviewed daily and to date we have not had any information relayed to us that there has been any issue of this nature. We take all reviews seriously and the information you provided has been passed on to our pest service for appropriate action. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groton hotels

Newark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ramada Inn was located in a well lighted area, but the receptionist could not provide a street map of the area. When asked, she did provide well written, concise directions to a couple of the area attractions. Front end staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

Room was quiet, but needs a lot of refurbishing attention: TV remote did not work; bedside lamp did not work; holes in the ceiling; saucer-sized stains in the carpeting; curtains/drapes did not work well; bathroom door was chipped.

There was broken glass in 2 of the parking spaces --- when the front desk was notified, she said she had no maintenance staff on duty and would have to sweep it up herself.

Inside stairwells were not well lighted.

Liked the security of having to open the outside door with your room card/key.

Continental breakfast was OK -- would have liked ice around the yogurt ( not cold water), and sausage would have been nice. The breakfast room was a nice size for the number of people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.2 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.5 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
5.5 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Property: Ramada Groton
Address: 156 Kings Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3436 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing