We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars, really; would be great with a few improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Firstly, I We took a chance on booking this hotel despite the numerous comments regarding the staleness and age of the carpeting, furnishings, etc. because the price was too tempting for a two bedroom, full kitchen room. We have two young children, so they amenities are important to us. We were willing to accept old furniture, and even brought Febreze to combat any odors!

Our first impressions were scary. Despite being prepared (thanks past reviewers!), we were dismayed at the look of the hotel sign (major peeling - looked like it belonged to a hotel that had been long abandoned!!), and the hallway carpeting (we were in Building 500), which looked like a herd of wild animals had just come through. But those fears were dissipated when we actually entered our room. Yes, the furniture is old, and looks like it was purchased from a discount outlet store, but the carpeting was fine, and the place was huge!! The kids shrieked with delight at the sight of it all, and ran from room to room. Whew!

The place to be more than adequate, size-wise. In fact, the walk-in closet in our master bedroom was bigger than the one I have at home! And we liked that there was an extra sink outside of the bathroom for brushing teeth, etc. Sheets were decent, mattresses were VERY comfortable, and seemed to be brand new (which was, in fact confirmed by our waitress the next morning). TV's were also new, and I believe the sink and bathtub was new too.

What was NOT new, and really needs to be the next thing on the list: kitchen appliances. My god!!! Both the microwave and oven were AT LEAST 20 years old, which made them somewhat unusable. Both have dials. When was the last time you saw a microwave with dials!! We had bought a number of microwaveable things from Trader Joe's to eat while on vacation, but ended up using the oven and stove, which was faster. Example - fried rice package said 1-2 minutes; we put it in for about 8 minutes, then decided to put it in the pan to finish up. I guess the microwave guide, which said 9-11 minutes for frozen veg was right... wow. Oven also worked, but again, it was really old, and I couldn't for the life of me figure out the timer. Plus, it made the whole area really hot when it was on.

Which leads to the other main problem, which is the lack of air-conditioning in the 2nd bedroom. The one in the master bedroom and living room is great, but if you close the doors to the 2nd bedroom or use the oven (which increases the temp of the bedroom, which is across the way from the kitchen, by about 15 degrees), it gets really hot. We started cranking up the living room a/c to maximum each day when we left so the kid's room would be nice and cool when it was time for them to sleep. We forgot one day, and it was boiling in the room at night. I literally put ice on their beds to cool them down!!

Other pluses, though, were the free breakfast (very good, though not great, IMO) and the location, which is right off the highway, near to many restaurants (Five Guys Burgers and an Indian restaurant in the Ramada with good reviews are both within walking distance), and right across from a large shopping area with a supermarket, dollar store, Kohl's, Panera, and more - perfect for picnic supplies, and getting anything you might have forgotten to pack.

Would stay there again if they made more improvements, which they seem to be in the process of, so fingers crossed for next time :) Otherwise, we'll be looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItineraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Groton Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 339 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent Saturday and Sunday visiting the Mystic area of Connecticut. Discovered Groton Inn two years ago staying only Sunday night(only night available). This time we called in advance and booked both nights. When checking in Arline (Guest Services Manager) at the desk, actualy remembered us. We were put in an efficiency with a king bed and full kitchen. The bed was super comfortabe but was being replace with something better. Each day were given a voucher for a full sit down, waitress servied breakfast that was excellent. Everyone was very nice from the cleaning staff to the waitresses, especially Arline. If you forgot something Walmart is across the street.We will stay there again and highly recommend thr Groton Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamespmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This in not the best motel I have ever stayed at but neither is it the worst. Paid $124.95 + tax for two nights 20 and 21 June 2013. Our room had two queen beds, a large living room area and a kitchenette with microwave and small frig. The only short coming was the noisy A/C unit. The overall property is in fair to good condition. A little rough around the edges. Yes, the bath room is small and contains only the tub and toilet. But then I don't live in the bathroom and all we wanted was a comfortable place to sleep and shower. This filled the bill at a very nice price. And I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont think there was a pool nor room service. It isn't that kind of hotel. We wanted a place c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel shows it's age in some places, but overall it's in good condition. Seemed clean other than the sheets had a stale odor to them.

We were there for an event at the hotel, so the location was great for us. It is close to many of the reasons you'd go to Groton, so that's a plus.

Staff was very nice. Complementary breakfast was good. There is a restaurant and bar right off of the lobby. Both were good.

Price was about half of the chain hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnDinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here one night for a brief trip. I found the hotel to be clean and well tended with a friendly staff. The nearby area has plenty of restaurants to suit most tastes as well as plenty of shopping.
It's about 25 minutes away from Foxwoods, which was the reason for my stay.
Completely satisfied for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigurdJarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Non-smoking rooms smell like stale smoke as do the hallways in non-smoking but no big deal right? Then I tried to sleep. Apparently they hire an outside cleaning service that specializes in gas stations to clean the kitchen ducts. They started at 11:30 at night and finished at 2:30. What joy, a commercial steam jenny, a portable truck mounted LOUD!!!!!!! generator.The windows were rattling in my room. I called the front desk. The girl told me she would go check it out. To no avail.The idling truck and it's beautiful reverse alarm beep- beep- beep at 2:30. Guys yelling back and forth. Guess who did not sleep and had to drive? Told the lady at check out and got a boo hoo. I want my evening back. This is a managerial mistake to book these loud procedures during the night. Breakfast was good and included. Freindly staff. Go stand in the restaurant and look at the air ducts. Maybe the cleaning crew should have hit those too? Glasses are left on the table upsidedown. Ours were stuck to the tables. Nice place....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunil S, Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We appreciate you taking out the time to write to us. After speaking with my staff, I found out that the cleaning crew arrived later than the scheduled time, and they still proceeded to continue their service. I have spoken to the vendor to make sure it doesn't happen again. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to accommodate you in the future with more updated rooms. Plans are on the way to upgrade our rooms with new beds and flat-screen TV's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, delaying our return home to Massachusetts until our power was back on after the big February snowstorm last weekend. So this was a last minute decision and we were glad we made it. The rooms are beautiful and big. Our room had a flat screen TV, table and chairs, upholstered chair and footrest, and a king-sized bed. We also had a fridge and microwave. There is a restaurant and bar off of the lobby so we had dinner there and we enjoyed a Valentine's Special Dinner-for-two. The breakfast the next morning was the best we had on our trip (three weeks away).The staff was friendly and efficient. The price was excellent (a mid-week special from Hotelcoupons.com).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you stopped for the last day on your way home. It was a safe move to make with BLIZZARD NEMO! The Valentine's special was fun! When you want a short trip away from home please call and we will be happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
0.2 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Groton
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: $96 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing