We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Old, tired, poorly appointed. Awful bedding, thin tiny towels, noisy heating system. No in house gym. No staff in evening if you need something, like another blanket to compensate for what the room has. Noisy guests at 3 am. There are a ton of mid-level chain hotels around here (Hampton, Courtyard) that are much better values in much better shape. Experiment concluded. Never again here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for writing, I would have loved to fix your issues while you were here. We do have 24 hour front desk coverage and extra blankets at the front desk. We did have a group of over 500 the evening you stayed and many of them had rooms. We anticipated their enjoyment of the evening and had extra security We would have been happy to assist you with noise issues, bedding packages or your noisy heater with a quick response time. I am sorry we did not have an opportunity during your stay to turn your opinion around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

We wanted to get away for a couple of days and Priceline had a very good rate on a room at the Groton Inn and Suties. The room was large and very clean. A full breakfast chosen off the menu in the restuarant was included in the price, not a buffet or continental breakfast! The lounge was comofortable and the bartender very friendly. In fact, all the staff was very friendly. Would absolutely recomment this place to anyone who needs a decent room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This was my second stay at the hotel, and it only reaffirmed my earlier impression. Although it isn't the newest place, they have a charm that comes with that. Far from the sterile road side motels, these people really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. From the front desk, to the lounge, and even the service staff, they all have a smile and a friendly hello that doesn't come from the employee handbook, they seem genuinely happy that you are spending time with them.

The rooms are a nice size, and for the price, a great deal, again, so much better than many of the chains.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justaguy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write, it is always nice to share with our staff when they do something right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

When traveling we stay at the Groton Inn and Suites. It is easy to get to and centrally located. They may not have a pool but we like the beaches to walk on. The front desk is always helpful in finding us a great beach or other attractions to go to while out there. The suites are spacious and awesome. If we eat out instead of cooking in the room, we can bring our food back and warm it up the next day in the kitchen. If we come when the weather is right for golfing they hook us up with local courses in the area. We feel like we are at home and with family from the way you come in the front door and the freindly way they greet you. This fits our need just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay in the apartment. We hope you will come again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Groton Inn in the main Hotel on December 2&3 2011. Our daughter was attending the Coast Guard Ball. The Hotel is very convienent to the Coast Guard Academy, Sub Base, Mohegan Sun Casino and Restaurants but mostly the stylish town of Mystic. First the hotel.
The rooms were very large, almost twice the size of most hotel rooms. You got a nice living room separated by a wall from the bedroom area and a bathroom. The room is not fancy but was clean, comfortable and very spacious. There were 2 TV's and a mini fridge which surprised me. Our room came with 2 breakfasts each day. The food was good with plenty of options for everyone. The regular price was about $120/night but if you are family of the Coast Guard Academy, you get it for half price. This is a really great deal!!!! Our friends stayed in an Groton Inn Apartment in the building behind the hotel. They had 2 bedrooms, a living romm, kitchen and 1 bathroom. There was a party going on next door but you couldn't hear it in our room. This apt is great for a family or larger group.

I really enjoyed the town of Mystic. This is a must see if you go. The shops are a bit pricey even with everyone offering 30-40% off. There were a lot of high end and specialty shops. Lots of women's shops with trendy clothes. Bought a charm braclet with charms at a very reasonable price at a shop named PepperGrass and Tulip. Not a Pandora but you couldn't tell the difference and I paid about Half the price or less.

We ate at S&P Oyster Restaurant. We were between meals so we only ordered calimari and Lobster Bisque for our table of 4. The food was good but the view from the second floor was outstanding looking at the river and harbor. Not too many boats this time of year.

We also stopped in at Mystic pizza. They play the movie non-stop. I wish I would have tried a piece of pizza. Guess I'll just have to go back.

Anyway, all in all a really nice hotel and location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rock36662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

We appreciate your stay on your USCGA visit. Yes, we do have a special for USCGA families during the time their cadet is here for 4 years. I hope we see you again during the time they are training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

On our way south to Florida we were forced to stop due to weather. The first place we spotted off of I-95 was the Groton Inn and Suites. I was traveling with an elderly aunt and my Mom and it was such a treat to be offered apartment accommodations. We found the staff friendly and efficient, the unit a home away from home and the breakfast fueled us for the long trip ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillG637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write. Our location right off the interstate is easy once guests can find the correct exit. We are always available by phone to walk-you thru the curves to get you to our front door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After the second day without power following Storm Alfred, we took the family to this hotel for a couple of nights. The location was close to I-95 so it was easy for us to travel to client meetings.
Honestly what we like best about the facility was that they had heat, hot water and electricity, which were all things that we didn't have at home at the time. There is on-site laundry, another item we desperately needed, but the laundry was in another building about 100 yards away from the inn. Since this hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms on both floors, the smell of smoke is noticeable in most of the common areas. Our room had one broken bed and two non-functioning outlets, but was otherwise clean and comfortable.
The restaurant serves breakfast lunch and dinner, all with reasonable prices, so we ate all of our meals here for two days. Everything was fresh and hot, and the menu had plenty of variety so we never got bored with it. Since the portions were so big, it was great to have a fridge and microwave in the room to store and reheat leftovers.
Above all else, customer service was wonderful! The hotel was booked solid with all of us Storm Alfred refugees, and the restaurant was incredibly busy too, but we were treated so well by all of the staff that it made us feel like we were the only people there. The waitress in the restaurant was exceptionally kind to my son , who had to miss out on Halloween because of the storm, and came by our table with candy for him. So nice!
Thank you, management and staff of Groton Inn and Suites, for making us feel at home after being displaced from our home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
716 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: $86 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing