We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't stay near lobby”
Review of Super 8 Groton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Groton
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed May 15, 2007

I booked the Super 8 through Travelocity and received exactly what I requested (2 double beds, nonsmoking). Finding the place was easy, as it was just off 95.

The area didn't seem bad. There was a Taco Bell and KFC nearby. Parking was ample, athough there were not any available spots near the room. You're about 15 minutes from the Mohegan Sun and maybe 5 from the Navy base and sub museum.

The staff was extremely courteous and the room was clean. Although the heater/cooler looked like it was damaged, it worked fine.

Our room was actually off of the lobby, directly across from the breakfast room. My only complaint was that starting at 6 am, everytime someone made a waffle, we heard "beep, beep, beep." It was really loud and there's not much you can do about it. If you don't go through a discount website, you may be able to request a room away from the lobby. Stay away from room 117 if at all possible!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mafisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

I've never stayed at a Super 8 before but after reading the good reviews on here I decided to book it for one night. I paid $56 including taxes. Nothing went wrong with our stay but my fiance and I both came up with the same word to describe this Super 8 "creepy ". The outside of the building is old and across the street there is an empty Ihop. I thought the room was fine and the bed pretty comfortable. The make your own waffles were yummy. This place is ok for one night if you plan on being at the Casino's for most of your stay and you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank elizsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We just stayed at the Super 8 in Groton over the Martin Luther King Day weekend for one night. It was a very nice clean hotel. The room was big and quiet, it had a fridge and a microwave and cable TV. The hotel had great highway access to route 95. It's about 15-20 minutes from Mohegan Sun. It is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Booked the room on the motel's website since it saved me $10 (the room was $53). I was surprised the bed was comfortable and the non-smoking room actually didn't smell like smoke, have had some bad experiences at other Super 8 motels. Checked in at midnight and the guy was friendly, it seemed a little slow, but since the guy was friendly we didn't mind. The breakfast in the morning wasn't great, but the make-your-own waffle station was decent. Overall it was a great deal for the price and would come back again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Stayed at the Super 8 in Groton on Sat night with the family. Check in was no problem, the front desk staff was very friendly. The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave. However, there was no closet or iron which was disappointing and the room had a slight musty odor. The entire hotel was is in desperate need of an overhaul, but considering it is a budget hotel I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons. It was quiet which was surprising considering it's location. Overall, it was fine for a one night stay but that's about it.

Thank laurenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I think I'd stayed in a Super 8 Motel before, but have pretty much stayed in most of the budget chain motels, so know what they are about. This one was recommended to us by a friend nearby, so that helped. Most of the people staying at the place are there to visit the nearby casinos, which are one of the main attractions in the area. You can see that fact reflected by the demographic of the guests, who obviously come from all over to have a good time.

For the price ($65 a night), this place was a good value and was one of the cheaper places in that area. Booking was easy, via Hotels.com, but the directions I got from that site were actually wrong. Fortunately, the area is small, and when I called from the road to double check the directions, the clerk sorted everything out for me. He was very, very nice (Terrence), but not sure if anyone there cared enough to contact hotels.com to save some other folks future trouble.

The night manager was not friendly at all, but the guy checking me out two days later was nice enough to print out the mapquest directions I'd looked up for our next destination (the printer for the free comp. was not working). Getting on the comp. was not too hard (I usu. get on late at night), but I had to compete with some pro poker player, who wanted to participate in a four-hour tournament (!!) that second night. I needed to get to sleep, anyway, as we had a long drive the next day.

The rooms were fine. Had a microwave and a fridge, which is always nice, but I had to move the microwave to an awkward place to plug it in. The muffins in the morning weren't great, but it was cool that you could make your own waffles if you wanted to.

What was weird was the way the maid left our used soap stuck to the side of the backsplash. A little weird, that's all. Otherwise, the place is clean with convenient parking, parquet floor in the elevator (something you don't see every day), and a nice Asian theme in the lobby (guess the place is owned by Chinese). It would have been nice if there was an iron and ironing board in the room (this seems to be standard in better hotels and even other budget hotels), but I guess if I was desperate, I could have inquired to see if I could borrow one.

I would have no problem staying at this place again, unless, of course, I really wanted the B&B experience next time I visit that area, which would be more expensive, but fun.

2  Thank burninggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We decided to go to the Mohiecan sun last minute with our 2 year old daughter. We got a great price. The manager on duty was very nice when we checked in and I asked about a crib and he said give him 10 min . I also asked for an end room because i really did not want my daughter bothering them . The rooms were nbice and clean. the hallways were very warm . The crib was in the room by the time we got there and it was in good shape and not falling apart. The " Breakfast" left little to be deisred. The coffee was not ready and there was not juice. There was a waffle maker. But when i asked for milk I was told there was not any.. but the manager came in and told the guy to get the milk..( there was a HUGE Stop and shop right across the street) . But for a free breakfast it was fine....

Our overall stay was great and we would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Groton
Motel 6 Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Groton

Address: 173 Route 12, I-95 Exit 86, Groton, CT 06340-3432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range: $39 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Groton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Groton
Super Eight Groton
Groton Super 8
Groton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing