We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

About half an hour from Foxwoods. Rooms are large and exceptionally clean. The staff is very friendly and knowledge about the local area. The price is right and the value gor the dollar spent is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    99
    72
    28
    14
See reviews for
98
112
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed here before. Always clean and good. Breakfast included with room, is served buffet style in on location restaurant.Very good and filling. Pool and hot tub on premises as well as fitness center. Just approx. 10 miles from casinos and close to I 95 and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobieski, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Centrally located to area attractions. My son is stationed at the Naval Base is Groton, and the hotel is located within walking distance of Base Housing. The breakfast that is included with the room charge was hot, but had limited options, but was still good. We stayed four nights and only had one day where we didn't get maid service because when she came through we had not left our room and had a do not disturb sign out. We were out of the room by 10am but they did not come back to the room. Overall, it was a good hotel for what we paid and what was included with the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Jolynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Shuttle was a treat considering how far they are from the casinos. The breakfast was well worth the stay. But the maintenance department was on vacation because we had many broken items but was never fixed. We don't think they cared much about correcting the issue either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Next time I will pay more and stay at the Best Western Cristata! I only needed a room for 1 night to attend a concert at Mohegan. I stayed in Room 416 which was in need of some updating. The couch had several dark stains, the bed sheet and pillow cases had "mystery" stains. The bathroom had mold and the counter was in need of repair. There were two tiny bars of soap and 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner....no lotion etc. You can tell they provided the bare minimum. The room had a strange musty/air freshener smell, maybe housekeeping tried to cover the musty smell up? They didn't have any hotel pamphlets/local area info etc in the room and they didn't even provide the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign for the door like every other hotel I've ever stayed at. The free shuttle to the Casino runs hourly which is inconvenient. The Best Western Cristata provides a nice LIMO that is constantly making runs back and forth. I only chose the Olympic Inn because it was fairly cheap compared to the Cristata for 1 night in a King room. The free buffet breakfast was edible but I should have walked next door to Dunkin Donuts and just bought breakfast. The buffet area was messy, scrambled eggs on the counter, the cups for juice were sitting on a tray that looked dirty and had several hairs on it, gross! The unfriendly hostess that sat us down and then just hung out in the bar area should have spent some time cleaning up the food area. I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Every time I stay at this hotel I have a good experience, from the desk people checking us in,the shuttle bus drivers, housekeeping, and the waitress's and bartender's are always friendly. Rooms always clean. I always recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times and I haven't had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loreto, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Upon checking in late, due to plane and train delays, the night manager wasn't very helpful and was down right rude. Credit card was not authorized, due to possible fraud, as my husband was out of the area of the usual charges By the time it was straightened out the next morning, he had enough of the office staff and for some reason the manager did not want to talk to him. The rooms were not that nice for the price, nor was the so called breakfast. He moved to another hotel that actually was cheaper and nicer. We always stay at a Best Western and this hotel was just not up to the others standards. It definately was not the "best". Our future trips to Groton, will not be at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BajaAlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Jill Alley,

Thank you for your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is most important to us. I have you as checking in at 12:34 am on 6/27 and checking out less than 10 hours later. I am very sorry about your travel troubles and your credit card fraud. Apparently, this soured your perception of our property; staff, rooms, breakfast. We did extend the courtesy of holding the room for you even though your credit card had declined. The manager was diplomatic and cordial even though being screamed at. When we attempted to obtain an approval on the credit card given to confirm the reservation, an approval for the credit card transaction was declined. At that time, your reservation ceased to be a guaranteed reservation and therefore usually is cancelled.
Assurance of payment is needed by all hotels to guarantee payment and hold hotel rooms. Only this guarantee of payment allows hotels to turn away other potential paying guests. In the future, please be sure to guarantee all hotel reservations with a credit card that contains sufficient credit available to cover the charge of your hotel room. We certainly regret any inconvenience this has caused you.
There have been several guests in that room since your stay and they brought up no issues. We have VERY satisfied guests staying 45, 60 nights or more. They love it here, the friendliness of the staff, all the extra amenities at no charges, etc. They also comment on our huge free full hot breakfast buffet as an excellent free amenity. I'm so sorry we didn't leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling as well.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 860-445-8000.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn New London
Holiday Inn New London
#1 of 5 in New London
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Address: 360 Route 12, Groton, CT 06340-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing