We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMc” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MMc”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was average. Did like the distance to Mohegan Sun. The breakfast was terrible. There was no food available when we went to eat at 8:30am. The scraps in the hot trays were hard and stuck to paper. NO fruit or cereal as mentioned. Very dissatisfied
Note: Did not like the easy access in and out of the hotel. There should be cards to swipe in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank MMc621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MMc,

Thank you for your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
The breakfast buffet is attended and kept stocked by our staff, you must have been there at a busy time, I'm sure the trays were replenished within minutes. We do have fruit and cereal, milk and juices available at all times. They are on the right of the hot trays, not on the same side as the main buffet. I'm sorry you missed them, they are always there. We do get alot of compliments on our free breakfast buffet. We do include extra ameneties other hotels charge for: FREE unlimited breakfast buffet with extended serving times of 7 am - 11:30 am, FREE Mohegan Sun Casino shuttle service, FREE wired and wireless internet, FREE coffee and cookies. These "extras" that would add to your bill at other hotels make us a outstanding value.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 860-445-8000.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    99
    72
    28
    14
See reviews for
98
112
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sylvester, Georgia, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The overall stay was nice, Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean. Only complaint would be about maintenance or should I say lack of maintenance. There was at on time a water leak above the room at entrance and at bathroom. The ceiling had not been repaired or painted. This didn't affect stay, just looks bad. I would stay here again if the need arises. Overall a pleasant stay.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for pointing out the issues in room 328, our mainternance crew has addressed each of these.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; we have just finished installing brand new 32" LCD Flat Panel TVs and brand new carpeting in all of our rooms, new ergonomic executive chairs in our rooms with desks, in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and coming up all new furniture in our rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. Our lobby is scheduled for an all new updating next; walls, carpeting and furniture. Also, we have a new courtesy shuttle van. As a previous guest, we are genuinely devoted to keep you coming back by continuously improving our product; our rooms and service to you.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I and another couple chose this hotel because of the shuttle service to Mohegan Sun. The hotel room is a great value for the price. We made full use of the jacuzzi and there was a new TV in the room. Unfortunately, because of the blizzard, we were stranded hotel bound for the day and didn't get to do our touristy stuff as planned... However, we were thoroughly impressed with the staff, more specifically, the staff within the attached restaurant, Flanagan's. Even though the hotel briefly lost power, one of the chefs came out and took orders for sandwiches. We had traveled a long way and were starving and were initially told there was no food but then the cook went above and beyond and was very friendly and helpful. We had a dinner the following night and it was fantastic.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sannec91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your nice comments on our staff, particularly our restaurant Flanagan's, and Mike S in the kitchen. We were just trying to make our guests comfortable during the storm as nobody could leave and go anywhere. We are fortunate to have such a tremendous staff and fortunate to have a hotel to let them stay in our rooms during severe weather so we'll be staffed. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors. We look forward to seeing you again for your next stay.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; we have just finished installing brand new 32" LCD Flat Panel TVs and brand new carpeting in all of our rooms, in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and coming all new furniture in our rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. Our lobby is scheduled for an all new updating next; walls, carpeting and furniture. As a previous guest, we are genuinely devoted to keep you coming back by continuously improving our product; our rooms and service to you.
If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. Please mention you are a returning guest. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want to go to Mohegan Sun and not pay top dollar, stay here, great staff, great location and free transportation to and from the casino, not to forget the buffet breakfast. Great place to stay, fantastic Staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank JIMBOBOB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We are family owned and operated. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors.
We certainly appreciate the high scores you gave us.

We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; we have just finished installing brand new 32" LCD Flat Panel TVs and brand new carpeting in all of our rooms, in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and coming up all new furniture in our rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. Our lobby is scheduled for an all new updating next; walls, carpeting and furniture. Also, we have a new courtesy shuttle van. As a previous guest, we are genuinely devoted to keep you coming back by continuously improving our product; our rooms and service to you.

If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. Please mention your name as a returning guest. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn New London
Holiday Inn New London
#1 of 5 in New London
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Address: 360 Route 12, Groton, CT 06340-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing