We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Olympic Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located not far from Mohegan Sun casino, shopping (Kohl's) just around the corner and access to a number of restaurants and attactions (Mystic aquarium, village, Groton Submarine base).

Swimming Pool and hot tub were welcome at the end of a buy day.

Room Tip: Breakfast was complimentary buffet - plenty to eat and replenished reguarly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Thanks for your wonderful comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are family owned and operated. Nobody cares more than an owner, and an owner will always be on property. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a pretty nice hotel. It was definitely shabby in some respects, especially in the bathrooms, but it was basically clean. The free breakfast buffet more than made up for that. The only thing I didn't like was that the parking was not well organized-you had to walk pretty far to get a door. Also there was a mild smoke smell in the hallways, but our smoke-free room smelled fine. Nice pool here, too, with good hours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I happened upon this hotel when I discovered a prior place on the bedbug registry. So needless to say I am very critical when I book this room. I must say that the hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful and informative upon check in. The room was clean and had a fresh scent. We discovered the hair dryer didn't work and they replaced it quickly.
We also got to enjoy their very nice pool and hot tub. It was a great treat. They had free shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino which saved us having to worry about driving at the end of a night of play. To top it off the breakfast at the restaurant was very good and included with our stay.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be staying again when I want to get to the casino.
Great Place at at Great price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a weekend getaway to mohegan sun, free shuttle fridays and saturday nights, every hour and easy to get on any shuttle. room was so comfortable! staff was awesome and super friendly. FREE breakfast in an actual restaurant that was delicious! I highly recommend! Bar prices were reasonable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this Best Western as an anchor to visit the nearby, fantastic Mystic Seaport, a living history village and museum of 1800s life in a seaport town, which one could probably spend two whole days at in order to take it all in. The motel, just 20 minutes or so down the interstate from Mystic, Connecticut, is in a very peaceful, safe, clean area and comes equipped with a restaurant, Flanagan's, where we were offered an outstanding continental breakfast as part of our motel expense. We also had a dinner at the restaurant and found the food tasty and environment peaceful and enjoyable. The motel room itself was likewise very nice and clean. As an added bonus another forgotten, historic gem from the American Revolution that should be visited, respected and appreciated is the nearby Fort Griswold Battlefield State Park. This is actually off the same exit as the Best Western, and more than well worth the visit. In fact, in today's day and age of forgetting the significance of the very birth of the United States, a trip to Fort Griswold and a lesson of what happened there ought to be way more required than taxes, new government agencies and blind allegiance to political parties that together stomp out the ideals and sacrifices that gave birth to the freedoms now being legislated and accepted away. In fact, think about it, the very existence of TripAdvisor, and the absolute beauty and benefit of freedom of expression and the open forum being so wonderfully provided, was ultimately made possible by the founding fathers in town halls and everyday farmers and citizens on battlefields.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ActiveCommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed 5 straight nights In Best Western's in the New England states. This one VERY CLEAN....BUT... We were charged more than quoted when we booked five rooms. Gave the owner the name of the booking clerk (Brad) The same clerk told us the hotel was at the
Mohegan Sun Casino. Owner rude, said the clerk didn't quote the wrong rate. Charged more than quoted. WOULD NOT GO BACK!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC8657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding in New London. Had requested adjoining rooms, and they were waiting for us when we got there, even though they were not guaranteed to us at initial booking !! Rooms were well equipped, clean, beds were very comfortable. Check out was 12 noon which really surprised us. Usually hotels want you out by 11, so this was an added bonus for us. The breakfast was just wonderful. Had everything we could have wanted, and the kids were happy(nothing else counts !! ) My only complaint would be that it states "heated pool". The pool was clean and big enougfh but COLD !!!!! No way was it heated. The kids braved it but I could not take it so ended up staying out . Would have been a perfect 5 had it been heated, but gave it a 4 as a result. I would however highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the New London/Groton area. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnaloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
5.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Route 12, Groton, CT 06340-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: $103 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing