We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a nice dinner”

Olio Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 123 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed March 20, 2018

The food is very good, but the restaurant can get loud and hard to chat with your date. The service is always too notch.

Thank dolly325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeysaB, Manager at Olio Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Thanks so much for coming in and for posting a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2018

We had been wanting to try Olio for a long time; especially since we lost a favorite Italian restaurant of ours at the beach. We had the opportunity a couple of months ago for our anniversary. Sat at the bar: we love the activity. Service was good; food was great. A very happy surprise. So, we returned last Saturday. Sat at the bar; enjoyed the eggplant fritters; loved the veal with risotto and a light lemon sauce. Dessert was the topper. Second time was as good as the first.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roselee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeysaB, Manager at Olio Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

We are so happy to hear you had another pleasant visit. Thank you for talking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your business and the review. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Even though there was a special event going on, we received excellent service and the food was great. We sat at the bar and felt quite comfortable there.

Thank HELENRS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

My daughter, husband and I went for my 75th birthday. We called that evening and got a table at the time we had hoped. We were seated promptly and our charming server, Steve, was pleasantly attentive the whole evening. My daughter loved her cocktails. We all had a lobster bisque about which sonnets might be written; large pieces of lobster in a flavorful bisque broth. I had a Caesar salad (YUM!), my husband loved his burger. Our daughter had the crispy pulled pork spring rolls with chipotle mayo. She had a spicy grilled shrimp and chicken dish she loved(with green beans and mashed potatoes.) Our water glasses were refilled multiple times without our needing to ask. The ambiance was lovely. The room temperature was just right. The noise level was lively but not offensive in the least. At the end,, I was given a small gift with a Bday card. CLASSY PLACE!! Great prices. Super service!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank p r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeysaB, Manager at Olio Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thanks so much for this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that every aspect of your visit met your expectations. We are glad to know your birthday celebration was so happy. Looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile


I was looking forward to a nice lunch with a close friend. Though disappointed with service at another Kanabis owned venue (Bravo Bravo in Mystic) we decided to give Olio a chance. We arrived for lunch and were immediately approached by our server for our order. Not ready quite yet we asked her to give us a minute. We should have ordered because she forgot about us for the next 25 minutes. We finally got her attention and ordered the salmon BLT which I specifically ordered not dry to be clear. Again, another protracted wait which produced two turkey BLT’s. The server admitted to have pushed the wrong order button and to take back the order and try again. Not wanting to spend the whole afternoon in the restaurant we accepted the turkey BLT’s. They were good but not what we wanted or ordered. Our accommodation of her mistake was rewarded with NO ADJUSTMENT to the bill; not even to take off the glass of wine that my dining companion had consumed.
So, if you can put up with long waits for the wrong order enjoy Olio. Otherwise I suggest seeking out another restaurant.

1  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olio Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Olio Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing