We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wings”
Review of Sneekers Cafe

Sneekers Cafe
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Groton
Restaurant details
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great wings”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We read a good review in the local rag a few years ago, and finally stopped by.

The wings were great, and the dinner specials are a bargain. We plan to return.

The place is worn a bit, but in a comfortable way.
The staff is attentive and very pleasant.

Not on the main road, so you may have to look for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch. Don't be put of by the shopping center complete with adult video store.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We happened upon Sneeker's after reading reviews on this site. We were put off at first by the location and the exterior of the restaurant. Persevere! The sandwiches are worth it.
When we finally found the correct door, we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a neighborhood pub. The wait staff was friendly and the service was a little slow, but it was a relaxing pace. We ordered the corned beef Reuben and the beef patty melt. BOTH WERE OUTSTANDING. The Reuben was the size of a true New York deli sandwich dressed with sauerkraut and melted Swiss cheese. Real corned beef, not the deli cold cuts. The beef patty melt was charcoal grilled and moist with melted cheese. After taking a bite of each other's sandwich, we decided to swap halves. I can not tell you which I enjoyed more. My husband loved the corned beef and he NEVER eats sauerkraut.
Prices are reasonable $7.99 & $8.99 for a very large sandwich and fries.
Numerous beers on tap.
We have to make a return trip in the evening. Most evenings have entertainment and a dinner menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Feeling A little Wicked?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you feel like you want some thing Hot to eat, try some thing neat!
it's called wicked chicken and is hot and spicey. They give you some blue cheese dressing and
sour cream for dipping. Celery sticks included.
The restaurant is a hang out for locals and people that are employed in the area, they have a bar and provide entertainment nightly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't let the decor scare you away :)”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The first step in the door may make you think twice..make no mistake the food is great here. Definitely a pub. atmosphere, I ordered a pork loin and mashed potatoes, pork was grilled perfectly and the mashed potatoes were fresh...my husband's hamburger was moist and huge!!! We will definately go baçk when traveling through Groton again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gailyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go in”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside scare you. It is located il a strip mall with a package store and an adult movie store. Go in anyway. If you are looking for chrome and ferns, and food served with a sprig and an attitude, this iscnot your place. If you are looking for good honest food (and homemade deserts) served by people who seem genuinely happy that you came in, this is your kind if place. Yes, it is a local hangout, but woould you rather go to a place the locals avoid?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sneekers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing