We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music and disinterested staff”
Review of Octagon

Octagon
Reserve with OpenTable
Octagon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located just outside Mystic, CT, Octagon prides itself on offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood everyday. Our menu changes seasonally and celebrates local ingredients harvested right here in our beautiful state of Connecticut. To our pleasure, our guests are travelers from around the globe and neighborhood locals. From our open grill and wine cellar to our one of a kind artwork and glass sculptures, we truly believe dining should be an experience, not just a meal.
Danbury, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud music and disinterested staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

While staying in Mystic we decided to avoid driving and eat at the hotel: big mistake ! The restaurant was not crowed but we were seated at a table near the bar which had loud 70's music and were told we could not be moved .... hmmm empty tables ??
Service was poor: waiter barely came near the table , food only so so and overpriced. Next time we will drive into Mystic ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotJuliaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    62
    43
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretending to be a New York Steak House, and not getting close”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were staying at the Marriott Mystic Inn & Spa where the restaurant is located. If you are going to advertise as an upscale steak house you had best make an attempt to live up to the claim. The two of us were seated at a table for four. The waiter removed the wine glass for the two extra places but left the silverware. The attitude of the hostess and the wait staff could not have been worse; they were doing us a favor. We had to ask to have the water glasses refilled. And refills on our wine. Once we ordered we didn’t see much of the waiter till I asked for the check. Not the level of attention you would expect from a steak house as this is billed. The tuna appetizer was very good. The steaks were mediocre at best. The creamed spinach was more akin to spinach soup. I’m not sure how you can produce a poor portion of potatoes au gratin but they managed. While the restaurant we still fairly full, and while we were still eating our entrees, the staff started to vacuum and adjacent room; when the couple at the table beside us left the bus person cleared the table and they sprayed the cleaner causing it to blow into us. This is indicative a complete lack of understanding by the management of what a high-end steak house is supposed to be. The final touch was when we left the restaurant at 9:15 p.m. and the hostess bid us “have a nice day!”

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTwain1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have enjoyed this place many times , steaks and accompaniments very good .. This restaurant is located in hotel , another added bonus . Great hotel .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmd313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. I'm Thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed Octagon several times! You can sign up for our Octagon Monthly UPD8 at octagonsteakhouse.com to receive exclusive offers and updates. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good food overpriced though and no frozen drinks a bit disappointed however still very nice quiet great place to relax

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ss9968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, CT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner, great breakfast”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had dinner here one night and breakfast each day during our trip. The dinner was just OK...not bad but not particularly good either. At breakfast they do a very nice buffet which is well worth the cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Super_Dino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Octagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing