We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn - Groton
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hearing that this was an older Hampton Inn, I wasn't expecting too much here. I ended up being very impressed on a recent Friday Night stay where my wife and I attended a concert at Mohegan Sun. The bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. The bathroom was a little small, but it was more than sufficient for one night. The video checkout actually worked(its amazing how it doesn't at many properties) The breakfast was satisfactory, and all the staff we encountered were very pleasant and welcoming.

The rates are a little high on the weekends for what you get, but the whole area around the casinos is high on Friday and Saturday. I'd prefer to stay a little closer, but I wasn't about to pay 400 to stay on property or 239 to stay at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Its about a 10 mile drive to Mohegan Sun on a windey road, so call a cab or designate a driver if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveskin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    172
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
184
137
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
192 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were visiting friends in the area and decided to try the Groton Hampton. We normally stay in Hampton hotels and find them a good place to stay. The check in and out was fine, the room was clean, the staff friendly. They had coffee and fruit out all the time and a decent (it was OK not the best we have had at a Hampton but decent) breakfast. It is easy to find, not too far from Mystic and the beach. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We live in a neighboring town and our area was evacuated due to Hurricane Sandy. We checked in Sunday night. The hotel staff was on point! Every member of this hotel staff was helpful and remained cool and calm during this stressful time. They were ready to help and accomodate us with all of our needs. They even provided dinner for hotel guests, knowing we would not be able to get out or send out for food after a certain time on Monday. The hotel was packed and the staff flowed like it was a normal day. I can't say enough about this wonderful team here. The rooms were clean and comfortable as well and a good breakfast. The staff helped to make everyone feel comfortable and taken care of. Other hotels should follow suit. This will be our go to hotel when we have out of town guests! I'm beyond pleased.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed on a Friday night...ck in was a breeze..room was clean and king bed had a wonderful comforter and the mattress was great. We were pleasantly surprised with how good the breakfast was also. The only complaint we had was that we could not have booked just a Saturday night..it was Friday only or Friday and Saturday. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187Suz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Groton CT. in September 2012. The hotel was comfortable, clean and inviting for a family (with a small child). The breakfast each morning was substantial and the staff friendly. The main desk staff were very friendly.....especially Darien (sp?) who was so sweet and gave us good advice about where to go etc. She is a jewel of an employee!
Highly recommend this Hotel.....good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
299 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed her one night. Although not a usual guest of Hampton inn's, I found this one to be a pleasant exception. Service was excellent, including a van to downtown if needed. Holly did an excellent job representing her employer. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Free breakfast of limited cereals, waffles, etc. we were so impressed with this hotel, we are going to book another stay there. Everyone at this hotel made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hampton Inn Groton is definitely on par with the hampton family standard: Sparkling clean rooms, good size rooms and comfortable bads, complementary wifi, breakfast, pool and so on. The hampton in at Groton does stand out when it comes to service. It was the only hotel in the hampton inn family we visited that we actually got a call from reception after getting into our room asking if everything was to our satisfaction. it's these small tributes that makes me come back to a place.
Location wise it is close to mystic (about 4 miles) and that is just close enough not to be too far. we have stayed in this hotel partly because we were visting mystic and taking the kids to the mystic aquarium, but if you are coming as a couple you might want to consider something in mystic (there is another Hampton Inn in mystic).

All in all, loved the hotel and i will recommend it any time to families visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn New London
Holiday Inn New London
#1 of 5 in New London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Property: Hampton Inn - Groton
Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340-3738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing