We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family time.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn - Groton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Groton CT. in September 2012. The hotel was comfortable, clean and inviting for a family (with a small child). The breakfast each morning was substantial and the staff friendly. The main desk staff were very friendly.....especially Darien (sp?) who was so sweet and gave us good advice about where to go etc. She is a jewel of an employee!
Highly recommend this Hotel.....good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn - Groton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 586 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed her one night. Although not a usual guest of Hampton inn's, I found this one to be a pleasant exception. Service was excellent, including a van to downtown if needed. Holly did an excellent job representing her employer. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Free breakfast of limited cereals, waffles, etc. we were so impressed with this hotel, we are going to book another stay there. Everyone at this hotel made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hampton Inn Groton is definitely on par with the hampton family standard: Sparkling clean rooms, good size rooms and comfortable bads, complementary wifi, breakfast, pool and so on. The hampton in at Groton does stand out when it comes to service. It was the only hotel in the hampton inn family we visited that we actually got a call from reception after getting into our room asking if everything was to our satisfaction. it's these small tributes that makes me come back to a place.
Location wise it is close to mystic (about 4 miles) and that is just close enough not to be too far. we have stayed in this hotel partly because we were visting mystic and taking the kids to the mystic aquarium, but if you are coming as a couple you might want to consider something in mystic (there is another Hampton Inn in mystic).

All in all, loved the hotel and i will recommend it any time to families visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here several times while visiting my husband who was in sub school. It's only a few miles down the road from the base. It is very close to many restaurants, grocery stores and shops. The interstate is conveniently located to the hotel as well. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly and very hospitable. It was a comfortable and relaxing place to spend time. The indoor pool and spa is also very nice!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We liked this Hampton Inn very much. Staff was friendly and helpful, room clean and comfy, location great. Part of the stay included very nice breakfast offerings buffett style. We wanted to take the Ferry from New London ---> L.I. and this was easy to get to and not too far from hotel. Also went to Mohegan Sun and that was just a short driving distance. All in all, we recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August. First the pros. Staff very friendly and helpful. room very clean. Hot dogs in lobby around dinner time (son liked). Cookies and Andes candies at night. Purchased nicely discounted Mystic Aquarium tickets. Son missed breakfast, got a free breakfast bag for him.

Now...
Our room had a view of the carport roof.
No shampoo in room.
Booked a double room, charged extra $10 for son
Breakfast - out of oatmeal at 9:15 - 10:00 close). Was told it would take 30 minutes to make more.
Breakfast - out of fruit by 9:30 each day
Breakfast - one fo 2 juice dispensers output juice flavored water, the other, nearly pure juice.
Mattress "slid" on bed somewhat
Serious light leakage from both window and door at night
crazy loud elevators

I realize that this is the low end of the Hilton chain - the room looked like a Comfort Inn/Days Inn, but it costs more. I selected this hotel as it was considerably cheaper than Mystic options. It was adequate but I doubt that I'd stay again. We did not use the workout area or pool.

Room Tip: I think we were in 208. The middle rooms on the even side overlook the carport roof on the second f...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davcmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice room. Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Free wifi in the rooms. Pool. Location is fine for Groton, New London and Mystic area. Easy acces from the highway system. You can walk to Apple Bees in 2 minutes.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-Dandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.9 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340-3738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: $111 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing