We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Mohegan Sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn - Groton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn - Groton
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Caribou, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Close to Mohegan Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

We came to CT to see Kenny Chesney perform at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The hotel was a quick 10-15 minutes from the casino. Literally, turn right out of the hotel, go 9 miles up the road, turn left and you are there. Traffic was nothing, and leaving the casino to return to the hotel after the concert, all the traffic was heading back to the interstate and we just turned left and were out of there and back to the hotel in 15 minutes. We thought that we would hear other concertgoers returning, but heard nobody our entire 2 night stay.

The hotel is exactly what you'd expect from any HI. Free breakfast with waffles, swimming pool, small exercise room and a computer room. The room had a flat screen TV and although the folder said the internet was plug in only with wifi in the common areas, we had wifi in our room.

There's an Applebee's 2 buildings down, I'd say a 90 second walk. We had a great meal there with no problems. If you head right out of the hotel and drive under the interstate, there's many other options for food... Burger King, Subway, chinese, etc....

This will be our first choice when returning to that area again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandaleigh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    181
    60
    31
    14
See reviews for
200
140
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sbaby, dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel was an excellent choice for our group. The rooms were spacious and upbeat equipped with flat screens, refrigs, and microwaves. Spacious sitting rooms for continental breakfast or just wanting to get out of the room and watch tv was such a plus for our large group.

Plus the pictures on the website are the exact pictures of the hotel. The cleaniness and the quietness were major factors in my stay.

But the main factor was the staff. My Check in guy (David Greene) was awesome. My checkin time was less than 5 minutes. He displayed a good listening ear and just catered to any and all issues my group had. (Bad cab experience from Foxwood casino)

Another plus with this hotel is that Applebees's restaurant is next door. Please treat yourself or family to a great hotel.....

Thanks Stephanie L.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbaby014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Nice Hampton - not the best, but cut above most. Strong 3 star property.
The internet in room was slow, the business center was nice, but only had one computer and had to wait to use it to print boarding passes.
There is an Applebees next door and coupon upon check in for free 'munchie' .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Its a nice 2 star hotel. Good location. Very clean. Service was pretty good. Not bad for the money. Beds are nice and room was quiet. Internet was very slow however for "high speed". Slower than dialup it seemed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raevyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Booked this hotel for a Saturday night stay, over Labor Day weekend. It's close to Interstate 95/Route 1. The property is very safe at night, Applebees is a 2 minute walk. Property is absolutely spotless. From the outside, to the lobby, pool, and rooms. We had a (2) double bed room, and although the TV is a 25" tube type,with no remote, the rest of the room was perfect, including the beds.Our room was on the first floor, facing the road, and across from the laundry room. We had no noise issues during our stay.The Breakfast was a liitle better than most as far as hot food, but no cereals are offered, and if you get there any later than 8am, be prepared to stand in line. The "make your waffles" station, really slows down the line.
The only drawback's, Unless you are a Diamond or Gold Hilton Honors member, you will never get a complimentary upgrade in rooms. What you reserved, is what you are going to get.The other minor drawback, no complimentary newspaper, not even for HHonors members.
This hotel is, so much cheaper than any hotel in Mystic

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weege123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

we stayed here for one night for a concert at Mohegun Sun. The hotel is close enough for that and also close to Mystic. This is your typical Hampton Inn and is nicely kept and maintained. The room was very clean and spacious. Very nice bed, we slept well except the air conditioning unit is a bit noisy (which is typical of most hotel units). The free breakfast is a nice feature although it does get busy later on weekend mornings try to go earlier

Kyoto Japanese Hibachi and Sushi is a great dining option just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New YOrk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I am a Hilton Honors member and wanted to share my family's bittersweet experience the past few days in the Mystic, Connecticut area at the Hampton Inns.
We have stayed numerous times at the Hampton Inn in Groton over the past four years and have slowly watched as service and the quality of the hotel has decreased in that time. The hotel hit an all-time low for us this week.
We had a king leisure room and the problems began when we realized we could not make outgoing phone calls on the room phone. Front desk staff took off the blocks and still no luck. The maintenance man arrived and despite his best efforts, he was unable to fix the phone.
My 11-year-old son loves to sleep in the sofa bed and upon opening it up, food crumbs were found underneath the cushions. The air conditioner was making an ungodly sound and we asked to be moved to a different room. Since there were no other king leisure rooms available, we were taken to a room with 2 double beds--not acceptable for my wife and I who are both restless sleepers. This room, on the fourth floor, also had a huge bubble in the paint behind one of the beds that looked like it was caused by a leak from the roof. We decided to stick it out in the room we originally booked and that night, I immediately made a reservation at the Hampton Inn in Mystic.
Before we checked out the next morning from Groton, we went down to the breakfast and were once again very dissatisfied. The one worker there was not able to keep up with the demand and the meeting room was opened as there was no place to sit. We gathered what we could to eat and when we entered the meeting room, we were unable to find a spot to sit that was clean. Every table had food crumbs, spilled coffee or tea and other sticky substances on them. We retreated to eat in our room and got out as quickly as possible.
Later that day, we checked into the Mystic Hampton Inn and our faith was restored. From the smiles on the faces of the staff to the spotless condition of our king leisure suite, everything was fantastic. No crumbs in the sofa bed, a working phone and an air conditioner that purred--what more could you ask for! How about a breakfast that featured three workers, plenty of food and a wide variety on top and a clean place to eat your breakfast! Even the common areas were spic and span!
The staff at the Mystic hotel said they would share our experience with the Groton staff. Let's hope the staff at Groton took the criticism constructively and will work to correct these problems. As for us, if we return to Hampton Inn in the area, it will definitely be at Mystic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricH220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
2.0 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
5.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Property: Hampton Inn - Groton
Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340-3738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing