We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed one night over the July 4th weekend. The stay was just o.k. and the service was below what I've come to expect from the Marriott brand. The hotel is NOT in Mystic. Rather it is located in Groton, several miles from all of the attractions in Mystic. I used Marriott's new on-line check-in which did not work. Prior to our stay, I used Marriott's Virtual Concierge to request a rollaway bed and extra towels. Neither were in the room upon arrival and the front desk was not aware of the request. The concierge lounge was closed "for the weekend" on a Friday - I guess they have 3 day weekends at this Marriott. That was not an issue, except that the lounge was locked up tight and I could not get bottled water for the room. My experience has been that concierge level guests have access to the lounge for water and soft drinks. Such was not the case at the Groton...I mean Mystic Marriott. The front desk told me that the one small bottle of water already in the room was complimentary. To be fair, the hotel did meet the request for the rollaway and towels and did send 2 small bottles of water to the room. But, Marriott should not set the expectation with the on-line check--in and Virtual Concierge if the property is not able to meet those expectations. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, "Octagon". I had a coupon for 2 free continental breakfasts (I am Marriott Rewards Platinum). Our server asked us, "You only have one coupon for all four of you?" leading me to believe that we had been short changed somehow. The breakfast buffet was typical and the variety of fruit was particularly nice. However the staff seemed overwhelmed and the buffet needed more frequent replenishing. The atmosphere was semi-chaotic and not relaxing at all. All in all, this is a standard Marriott property and the service left me a little disappointed. But then I stay at a lot of Marriott properties and when you tout service and set expectations, you need to be able to meet them. Overall, our stay was just O.K.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolyPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 914 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went back and forth when considering places to say for a recent Mystic trip and eventually chose the Marriott Mystic. I couldn't be happier with the choice. The hotel is two short exits away from the "downtown" Mystic area and the quick trip was very pleasant. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are very nice and the amenities can't be matched in the area. The only thing missing is an outdoor pool. Great place, without a doubt I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Super_Dino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We strive to be the hotel of choice in the Mystic area and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Beautiful lobby. Great and convenient location to all Mystic attractions. Nice indoor pool. Concierge level very nice, however, the lounge lacks supplies, utensils and attention. Hallways could use a vacuum but overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stay at Marriott and Hilton properties often. This Marriott is very good. It is true that it is in Groton, not Mystic, but if Mystic is what you seek it is just a few miles up the road. The hotel just off I95, yet not so close as to hear highway traffic, easy to find, and provides easy access to all the quaint towns of southeastern CT - Stonington, Mystic, Noank, the submarine museum...The hotel is well kept and the staff very warm. Starbucks in lobby, high end restaurant, spa, and more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 1 night. It was like all Marriotts. We enjoyed our stay and really wished we would have stayed longer here instead of going to the Mystic Whaler Inn(it was AWFUL). I would without a doubt stay here again! It was great, like all Marriotts are!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after attending a wedding nearby with some friends. The staff was so friendly and accomodating and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a great restaurant and bar on site along with a Starbucks in the lobby. I used the gym which had lots of equipment and an indoor pool. The location is perfect to visit all of the Mystic tourist attractions. The Red Door Spa is right at the hotel too for any treatments you could want. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0c026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We love this hotel and stay here every time we go to Foxwoods. It's a beautiful property, the staff is knowledgeable, very friendly, and helpful (though we were given incorrect directions to the Cross Sound Ferry). The entire hotel is spotless and the rooms, though small, are well appointed and clean.

I usually treat myself to a spa treatment at the Elizabeth Arden Spa, which is attached to the hotel, but I didn't have time on this trip.

We didn't eat in the restaurant this time, but the food is always good. I did manage to grab a quick coffee on the go at the Starbucks in the lobby.

My only issue with this stay was the shower curtain liner in our bathroom, it was abut 6" too long and dragged on the bottom of the tub. It was rather gross to think it had soap, etc from prior use. Maybe raising the shower rod would help.

We'll be back soon, but will probably request a corner room next time - they are quite a bit larger.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
882 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
17.8 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
735 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: $179 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing