We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to the this hotel over Christmas and had a wonderful and peaceful Holiday time. The hotel's pool and hot tub were the feature for me and I totally enjoyed them. I swam every day and wound down in the hot tub. We ate in the hotel restaurant (Octagon) and found the food far above average. We had quite delicious dinners on 2 evenings and 2 very good buffet breakfasts as well. Service was quite too. This restaurant had become primarily a steakhouse since the last time we visited (2 years ago) at which time I recall a fabulous duck preparation that was no longer on the menu. Also, I missed the chocolate cherry bread pudding that I had eaten there previously. Who knows, next time they will have some new surprises in store. I would say the quality was very similar to our previous visit.

The only difficulty we had at the hotel was their reluctance to provide us with complimentary breakfast (we should receive this, especially when the concierge lounge is closed, as we are platinum elite guests). When I pointed this out to the desk staff, they did give us some coupons for breakfast (but not every day). Overall, we are very pleased as the staff was gracious, cheerful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Its nice to have a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    297
    118
    56
    28
See reviews for
222
266
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel frequently since 2009. Plus are a large parking, great lobby, and a Starbucks on site. The service is always excellent, the staff is great very helpful with good recommendations. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Follow staff recommendation, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardoFibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose the Marriott Mystic for a quick romantic getaway over the holidays with a special AAA rate of $99/night. We requested a high floor with a view and early check -in. Upon arrival Rebecca at the front desk was very helpful and got us into a lovely corner room on the 5th floor. Rebecca also recommended a great local breakfast place called, 'Somewhere in Time.'The room was very comfortable and we had a refrigerator put in for convenience. The King bed had great linens and was very comfortable. My husband wouldn't care but I enjoyed the warm gold and red color scheme of the decor. The TV pay per view movies has a delay so that the images and sound were slightly off...sort of funny during action movies. We enjoyed the pool, spa tub and fitness area. The Red Door Spa looked inviting and will take advantage of a massage next time we visit!

Room Tip: The corner room on the fifth floor is quiet and has 2large windows and a view of the water across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHoppper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel frequently since working in the Pharmaceutical Industry. Maybe it is because of the area supply/demand, but I would expect more from a Marriott catering to large pharma business clientele and boasting a Red Doos Spa.

Positives: Workout facility OK, plenty of parking, lobby, Starbucks on site.

Cons: Rooms are standard to below average marriott (remind you of busy airport Marriott) and seem to have more wear and tear over the years I've stayed, particularly bathrooms; rooms are not particularly well cleaned; checkin is not usually a quick process.

I've actually started just staying in Providence since I fly in there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLintheSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visiting Mystic Seaport for the Holiday Night Lantern Tours (great!!!!) Mariott is my prefered hotel when going anywhere. I have found them to have the most wonderful beds, nice furniture and decor, friendly and helpful staff and most reliable and consistant brand. That said, this Mariott met my expectations for high quality. I'm giving it only three stars for a couple of reasons - but understand that I am nit picking here and rating it three stars against other mariotts and luxery hotels. [You may say this is wrong, that the rating should be against all other gotels. Maybe, but I also paid premium Mariott prices but wasn't 100% premium satisfied, So against the bang for a buck factor it also was a notch below great.]

Internet was very slow. TV was a nice, large flat screen, but the signal cut in and out every minute or so with a second or two of black screen. The in-room coffee was enough for only one cup (I am used to two at least.) Not surprisingly, there's a Starbucks in the lobby. So if you have more than one coffee drinker be prepared to go without or be squeezed for a $4 cuppa joe. The view (from the upper floors mind you) is only of the parking lot (ample and free).

Again, those are the reasons I found it not a 5 star stay. It's still a very *nice* hotel which is comfortbale, clean and friendly.

-- Additional. I wrote the above before having breakfast. It was not a good experience so three stars now seems high and totally justified. "The Octagon" is the Mariott's restaurant which is a steak house. For breakfast... they have a cold buffet (straight forward fruits, cereal, yogurt, milk). The 'hot buffet' is you order food (she rambles off options like omelets, waffles, etc) and they bring it to your table. That IS NOT a BUFFET!!! And whne we arrived there was no one to great us. We had to wander in after a few minutes and then encountered a waitress who seemed miffed we wandered in. I explained there was no one at the greeter station. She explained she was the only one and 'apologized' (seems feint). $64 for wife and two kids. Okay, dropping the review to two stars. This is a sub-standard Mariott.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere for breakfast. There are manay choices in a ten minute radius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TegansDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the best business hotel in the area. The rooms are very nice (Marriott standard). The Concierge Lounge is good. They had issues keeping the breakfast foods stocked up while I was there. The only major complaint is that the hotel still hasn't seemed to supply decent towels for the bathrooms. Most of the bath towels and floor mats are threadbare. If they could fix this one area, I could give a higher rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I typically stay at the Hilton in Mystic, CT when I'm in this area, but decided to give the Marriott offering a shot. I was very surprised to see the AAA rate was a $75 savings- $125 vs $199 regular rate- whoa! That's more savings than my yearly dues with AAA!

This property has ample self-parking (free) and check-in was a breeze. I was not upgraded as MR plat, but was told I wasn't upgraded (as MR plat) because no king rooms were available on the club floor (no problem for me, I don't mine getting what I paid for!). I arrived around 9:50, and the club lounge closed at 10. I quickly dropped my bags in my room and headed up to check out the lounge before closing. The lounge was empty, aside from the attendant and offerings. Typical spread of cheese and crackers, fruits, and veggies, pretzels. I was told by the attendant they had hot offerings (dumplings if I remember correctly) but they "went fast", as far as beverages, they had wine, Michelob ultra, a local pale ale, and a disappointing assortment of spirits; canadian club, etc... one of the worst spirit offerings I had seen.

I filed out a card at the honor bar itemizing my consumption of alcohol and left it, along with a tip for the friendly but not over-bearing attendant and headed down to the restaurant for dinner. The food downstairs was fantastic, I had the scallops & risotto, the scallops were fresh and cooked perfectly, as was the risotto, very rich but fantastic.

As for the room itself- modern furnishings, clean. No complaints at all. This property uses lodgenet (big + in my book, I love to watch a movie while going to sleep.) but the room lacked a mini-fridge, which combined with the icky spirit offerings in the lounge account for the 4, instead of 5 stars. mini-fridge is a necessity for some of us! I don't eat breakfast or drink coffee, I need my morning energy drink and prefer it cold!

Room Tip: AAA rate for great savings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
17.8 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing