We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
396
332
146
67
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
332
146
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews octagon restaurant the concierge lounge corner room front desk beautiful hotel red door room service wedding parties dance competition off the highway stayed for one night mystic aquarium fitness center indoor pool minute drive king bed mohegan sun
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 977 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Lovely hotel- was upgraded to a corner room as I was with family and 3 children.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolausb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I attended a business meeting here and the hotel was GREAT !! Rooms were nice and beds extrememly comforatable. Staff service and attitude were excelelnt. Hotel bar was a little pricey but not as much as some. My only advice is to be prepared to drive a ways to have a nice dinner/lunch. Nothing is really near. Enjoy

Room Tip: No restaurants near... Prepare to drive !!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Mystic Marriott is an imposing looking structure with a spacious and ornate lobby, with red "oriental like" carpeting, leather chairs and soft lighting. An attractive setting, but what does one really get for rates starting at $309.00 nightly. Well, you get a room that is somewhat bigger than those at the Microtel, but not nearly as large as those at, say, Wingate at Wyndham or at most Best Westerns. We booked a room with one king bed which was way too soft and seemed undersized for my 6' 2" frame. The tiny pillows that were provided were lumpy and uncomfortable. We had the option of using the heavy comforter provided or just going with a single sheet. There was no light blanket or other middle ground. We found the place very noisy, especially at 3:00 AM when a loud argument broke out in the hallway near our room,

There was in room coffee with packets of non dairy creamer, but there was no complimentary coffee in the lobby. Also no complimentary continental breakfast, never mind the kind of full, hot breakfast that I tend to favor. Little amenities that are standard at so many hotels that are much less expensive were extra at the Marriott.

We spent an uncomfortable night, paid a high price, and we will not be going back. There are many better buys and nicer and more comfortable hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valuseeker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a Marriott. It is not a cheap B&B. You are paying for the Marriott name brand, etc. That being said, it was a nice stay. There was at least 1 wedding during our (July 4th) weekend. I made sure we were not on the same end of the hall. Very well kept. Nice bright lobby. Generally friendly staff and pleasant.

Mystic is only a 10 minute drive from here. We chose this hotel to be close to Mystic for the weekend. Got the best rate from Marriott's own website actually.

POOL: clean. great hours for the family. if I was a solo/couple (vs the family), it would be annoying, as children were there. otherwise, no problems. there is supposed to be an adult swim (only) time. Never went during that time so don't know if that was enforced. never a shortage of towels.

GYM: looked nice and clean. open 24-hours. wouldn't know - didn't go.

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS:
Ask the front desk. They offer 10% discounts for aquarium, seaport, etc. just ask. BE WARNED - don't believe them if they tell you about a promotion that you don't need a coupon for. GET A COUPON or a printout. There was a huge snafu and the hotel told us "no coupon needed" but, after parking our car and waiting in a long line, the aquarium told us a coupon WAS NEEDED (for the buy one get one free). We lost at least 1+ hours driving back and forth on that disaster.

ROOM: very clean. asked for a fridge (previous request had not been noted) upon check in, and it came within 15 minutes. the HD tv's were nice, but the cable (dish?) itself was horrible, and the digital picture quality was spotty. That was a disappointment!

INTERNET: free wireless. Get a code from the front desk if you're having problems with your wireless device.

HOTEL DINING TIP: if you want one single item on the menu, call down DIRECTLY to the hotel bar to order it (or go to the bar in person), and pick it up yourself. You will avoid the 19% service charge (that comes with the luxury of room service). We did this when our little one missed lunch, and we would order a late lunch directly AND PICK IT UP from the bar (to bring back to the room).

BELLHOP: they hold on to those carts like it's gold! If you need to borrow the cart, you must have a bellhop too. So, that can be annoying when you have 10 bags (we're a family of an active toddler), and are quite capable to DIY... but the mandatory bellhop comes too. SHAWN was extremely nice and knowledegable (looks like celebrity chef Robert Irvine, a bit) of the local area.

BATHROOM: wished the water pressure was a little stronger, but fine. The toilet paper was completely hidden (recessed) that I could not find it. again, everything in working order and fine.

BREAKFAST CHOICES:
The Shack (441 Long Hill Road, Groton). Excellent service. Good fast, tasty diner food.
Kitchen Little (135 Greenmanville Road, Mystic). Great omelettes. A bit of a wait for a table but worth it to do once.

ABBOT's (117 Pearl, Groton):
THIS IS A MUST!! No frills, picnic table dining. Got the lobster salad roll. Great steamers & mussels. Went back twice in 3 nights. BYOB - so feel free to bring your own booze! Everyone else did!!
COSTELLO's (down the street): affiliated with Abbot's. Similar menu - more FRIED items. Good fries. Menu was generally a little heavier and greasy IMHO. But tasty nonetheless/
S&P (Mystic): what a rip. It was decent quality, but nothing to write home about. If this is THE BEST SEAFOOD in Mystic, then I feel sorry for the folks in Mystic. There's a wait... and then ANOTHER WAIT inside (yes, a wait to get to the wait!). Crazy. Attentive service (once you are actually seated). "Ehhhh" on the food. Proscuitto wrapped scallops app was nice and they do a decent fish & chips. Hubby was not overly impressed with his S&P pasta (with seafood). It looked pathetic to me. Also, if you deviate from the kids menu (we wanted alfredo sauce for our child instead of butter), the restaurant adds a $1.25 surcharge. Yes, a $1.25 for a sauce that THE RESTAURANT ALREADY HAS on its menu. That's outrageous to me.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KangarooNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Staff was fabulous, especially Kim!
Very accommodating to special requests.
Room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.
A/C unit a bit noisy.
Restaurant was good.
Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeorgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews