We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester's Barbecue

Chester's Barbecue
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Uconn Avery Pt for my son and ate here at Chester's. The location was not very exciting but OMG- the food was wonderful. Wow do they know BBQ

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    21
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dry rub Barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and were looking for a bite prior to the movies, we found this little gem hidden in the corner of the mall. We both had the Chicken, dry rub with the dipping sauce on the side. The meat was tender not over done, moist with a great flavor throughout the meat. The workers were wonderful making sure everything was perfect. Price is right but don't expect fancy, benches to sit on were tough on the bottom.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
1 review
“Excellent BBQ!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We live in RI and were out for a drive one day and found Chester's in CT. The food was delicious and the staff was so nice, even pointing out a less expensive alternative on the menu! We are still talking about how good it was and will definitely make the trip again to go to Chester's!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYSTIC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great barbecue and brisket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

When you want to totally blow the diet, this is the place. Great barbecue and brisket. Also good sides of warm apples and yams. Very reasonably priced. If you skip the meat and just go for the vegetable side dishes, you could create a lower cal meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my husband decided to try a new place for lunch and being from the south we thought we would try Chester's. It was absolutely amazing. The food the service and just the whole place was welcoming. :) very clean, decently priced, even the owner came and spoke with us. Plus they offer a military discount in a military town, which is rare. We will most definitely be going back on a regular basis.

Helpful?
Thank Audri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Chester's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing