We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Navy Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge New London

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge New London
Save
You added Navy Lodge New London to your Saves list
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine Navy Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was neat and clean, everything one might expect from a Navy Lodge. We would definitely stay here again. the Navy Exhange is nearby for any supplies your might require.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dz221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family and I stayed here for my son's homecoming from a six month deployment. What an excellent week long stay we had! The manager runs herself ragged in order to provide top notch service to her guests. All of the front desk employees were helpful and friendly. Also, the maintenance and housekeeping staff always had a smile and "hello" for you as they walked by. Clean, clean rooms and nicely equipped kitchens. No wi-fi in the rooms but it is available in the lobby. I definitely recommend this Navy Lodge if you are eligible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyFairLady718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
190 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

One of the great benefits of being active duty is the lodging available to military folks. I am retired navy, and traveling with a current naval officer. We try to stay at a Navy Lodge whenever we can.

This trip we did want to return to Staten Island, but they were full. We then decided to stay in Groton, visit the sub base, friends, and take the train into Manhatten.

We arrived late, and the front desk was spot on with our reservation, answers to our questions.

The room was so clean and nice. It was very airy and had a newer flat screen tv and seperate dvd player. While the kitchen was small it was equally clean and well equipped. The bathroom and tub area was spotless. They do a great job here.

It is a newer building, well maintained. If you are in the Groton/New London area and are military I would really recommend the Lodge.

Great property, outstanding staff. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vieux_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our second stay at a Navy Lodge. The first was in Great Lakes, IL. The New London Navy Lodge is nicer as far as having more recent updated rooms. Still experienced the same great help from the front desk and housekeeping services that we did in IL. The rooms are bigger than your typical motel rooms and all have small kitchenettes. The property was always clean inside and out and always had a clean smell to it in the lobby and hallways. They do have washers and dryers available for a reasonable charge. Free coffee and tea are always available in the lobby area. It is a great value when you compare it to other hotels. We may not make it back to this Navy Lodge but I know we will definately stay in another one somewhere down the road. My only recommendation would be to have more comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the guest laundry area. Our room was upstairs but when I did use the laundry room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have a son stationed at the Navy base in Groton. We stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the room, staff and quality of beds and bedding. A light breafast was offered in morning. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: no elevator, tow floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkimjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were traveling to Virginia Beach and stopped here on our way. We were very surprised at how lovely this Lodge was. Very clean and accomodations were were of the upmost quality. The staff was pleasant and helpful. If we had more time we would have spent another night here. Great place to stay for any amount of time!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

if you are able to stay, you must have a military ID or a sponsor. Clean, friendly, helpful staff. Great loaction, Rooms are HUGE

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge New London

Property: Navy Lodge New London
Address: 2 Proteus Ave, Groton, CT 06340-2866
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navy Lodge New London offers Active Duty and Retired military members and their families 72 clean, comfortable and affordable family and business class accommodations. Each guest room comes equipped with a kitchenette, air conditioning, and private bath. We offer "Breakfast to Go" each morning in the lobby. We are Pet friendly. Navy Lodge New London is conveniently located near the Submarine Base New London for quick access to the Navy Exchange, Commissary, and MWR facilities and it is just a short drive to historic Mystic, CT and the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing