We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

The Submarine Force Museum
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the world's first nuclear submarine has several other exhibits on the history of submarines.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I guess I am lucky. I got a one-on-one tour. My BF is retired from the Navy. I was impress at all the interesting things there. I love museums.They also had new recruiters there on a scavenger hunt. And stopped by the gift shop there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grace Photos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    173
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but Fun”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Free and pretty cool to walk through sub, well worth the visit, the kids had a good time int he museum and you get to go into the sub. All in all a nice stop along the 95

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hamon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a great place to see and a perfect place for kids to learn about some history and background. Both the actual submarine. as well as the specific exhibits were exceptionally set up and we spent many hours at the facility. We had the good fortune of attending during graduation ceremonies. The whole experience is something that we will never forget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TuffNFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I are history buffs and have to visit sites like this whenever possible. The audio tour is very educational and crawling through the sub was fun (unless you are claustrophobic or over 5 1/2 feet tall). The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A great way to spend a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank xplorer_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

There are two aspects to this museum, the exhibit inside the main building and the Nautilus atomic submarine docked outside. The indoor museum provides a history lesson into the evolution of submarine warfare and is fascinating. Touring the Nautilus atomic submarine was an awesome experience. It is hard to imagine being submerged for extended periods of time in extremely cramped quarters. Your visit here will give you a sense of what those men experienced. There are three levels inside the sub that require you to use very steep ladders and to step through small portals between various sections of the sub. If you have any physical limitations, touring the Nautilus may not be the thing for you. Be sure to check the website for times when the museum is open!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Submarine Force Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Submarine Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing