We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely must if your into this sort of thing”

The Submarine Force Museum
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the world's first nuclear submarine has several other exhibits on the history of submarines.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
274 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An absolutely must if your into this sort of thing”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have been visiting for years. First off - ITS FREE. Why I have no idea because I think almost anyone would pay a few bucks to get in. Where else can you board the worlds first atomic sub!
Although not that large you really need a couple hours to see everything - don't forget the outside displays as well. During the summer there's a pretty good hot dog cart on the site, but in off months there are several very good dining choices within 5 minutes of the place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    169
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's worth a visit”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

A free museum that has a pretty good selection of submarine artifacts. Kids think its pretty cool because you can actually walk through a submarine, the nautilus, and there are a lot of different things for them to look at. Adults will like all of the history. I'm not sure how they could have done better with a submarine museum...this place pretty much covers it.

Helpful?
Thank cookmefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great History”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This answered a lot of my questions about my husband's job and provided visuals for many of the things he talks about often.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaraTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“surprised”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we were in the Mystic area and were looking for other attractions nearby. I found info for this museum, this turned out to be a surprise attraction. While the 6 grandchildren were not really keen on the idea of this visit it turned out to be both a fun, interesting, and educational place, and they really enjoyed it as well as I. Chances are if you are not some sort of military buff you probably wouldn't think of this place, but like myself I think you would be surprised, so much to see and learn and the highlight being able to go on board the Nautilus submarine truly thrilling.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank J0hn224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nautilus”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice museum and a must see for anyone who is interested in submarine or Navy history. I have been to the museum 3 times, but this was the first time that the submarine was was open. It was well worth it, and nicely preserved. It is free! If you are in the are, it is well worth and hour or so to check it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank d123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Submarine Force Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Submarine Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing