We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

For a recent 3 night stay, this hotel was suggested to me by my daughter who I was visiting in the area. The lobby was lovely and the reception staff courteous. However, both coverlets on the beds in my room were badly stained and the room just looked a bit old and tired. I could deal with that but on the 2nd day I left the hotel early Saturday morning and returned Saturday evening. Upon returning, I discovered that the door to my room had been left open and the bed I had slept in was only half made. When I told the person at the reception desk about all this she apologized, said she's notify the staff but that was the end of that. I also had to have my room key re-keyed twice before they finally gave me a new one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Debra,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Griswold. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. My hope is that you will honor us with another opportunity to exceed your expectations and right our wrong. Please contact me directly at 860-376-3200 to discuss a future stay. Again I do apologize for the inconveniences and hope we can host you in the future.
Emily Hurlock
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed at many hotels, Motels and Inns in my lifetime, and I must say that when I stay at AmericInn I stay with one of the best in the business. They always provide me with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Paul, seeing guests like you makes our job even better! Thank you for the kind review! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I'm happy you are able to experience that first hand. Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The best hotel ...super cozy! The staff makes you feel at home! I Go there every year with my family this year I came with my girlfriend and I had a great time ...the breakfast is delicious ..the beds are clean the pool is clean
Overall 10/10

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Jason, thank you for making the AmericInn of Griswold your "home away from home". We always want to make our guests feel comfortable, and I'm glad to see you relaxed in our pool and enjoyed a hot breakfast. Hopefully we can host you again in the future! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel was clean, comfortable, good price, but their shuttle is very limited and their "arrangement" with a taxi company is BS. Don't stay unless you have to on a busy weekend if you plan on going to Foxwoods.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We provide complimentary scheduled shuttle service to both Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun. Upon arrival, we ask that you sign up for specific times to leave and come back to the hotel. If a guest would prefer to take alternate transportation returning, we merely hand out a business card from the closest cab company as a courtesy and estimate the cost from what we have been told. We do not have any sort of arrangement with the taxi service nor do we receive a "kickback", I do welcome you to try our services again. If you would like to discuss this further, I can be reached at (860) 376-3200. Thank you.
Laura Wheatley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our second stay. Can't say enough good things about this place. The staff is super friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent value. Such a good place and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Matt, thank you for the great review! It was our pleasure to host you again! I hope net time you are in the area you can come enjoy another night with us. Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom king suite with our 3 year old and 7 year old. I was looking for a reasonable hotel that had free wifi, free breakfast, and an indoor pool. We were extremely happy with the stay and the accommodations. The staff there was extremely pleasant and very helpful. They also offer a shuttle on the weekends to the casinos. We were very happy with the pool and the breakfast was great. If you have stayed at a new La Quinta, it is very comparable, but Americinn's suites are actually two rooms with doors to separate. The other hotel isn't. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkppkjjkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for choosing the AmericInn Lodge & Suites, Griswold. The entire staff takes great pride in our property as well as our customer service. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not the 8 star taj.but great price great people. Great service. Half or a third of the price of the casinos........ very polite staff in person and on phone. Can't say much more stayed last new years . Shuttle drivers were awesome too...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldct, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you! We are looking forward to another opportunity to host you on your next visit to the area casino's. When you are ready please give us a call, we are always more than happy to be of assistance to you. Again, thank you for your review. Everyone at AmericInn hopes you have a great holiday season!

Best wishes,
The AmericInn Griswold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Griswold
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norwich-Plainfield-Casino
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,392 reviews
10.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn Plainfield
Quality Inn Plainfield
#2 of 3 in Plainfield
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold

Address: 375 Voluntown Rd, Griswold, CT 06351-2532
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Griswold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Price Range: $103 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold is your destination for comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodations near the I-395 business corridor. Visitors to the Mohegan Sun, Foxwoods Resort Casinos and MGM Grand Casino at Foxwoods will enjoy our unbeatable hotel value and free hourly casino shuttle every weekend. (Shuttle reservations must be made in advance.) Relax and enjoy yourself gambling, or taking in a concert or event while we take care of your transportation.(Please contact the hotel direct for shuttle times.) Sports fans will also enjoy our convenient location near venues for the Connecticut Defenders baseball team and Connecticut Sun basketball team. When you're not busy at an event, you'll enjoy our comfortable rooms and vast amenities: a heated indoor pool, hot tub, fireplace and whirlpool suites, free high-speed Internet, new flatscreen TVs in each guest room and more. Start each morning out right with our free hot, home-style breakfast before exploring the Griswold and Norwich areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Griswold
Americinn Lodge & Suites Griswold Hotel Griswold
Americinn Hotel Griswold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing